Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Email scam or can Emails be mis-delivered ?

  1. #1
    newprouser
    Guest

    Angry Email scam or can Emails be mis-delivered ?

    I jus got a mail which was probably meant for somebody else ! I would like to know how this is possible ???

    though it contains marketing stuff i'm unable to understand how in the hell it reached me ?

    email_scam.JPG

  2. #2
    MODDY mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Liked
    12 times
    Posts
    6,931

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by newprouser View Post
    I jus got a mail which was probably meant for somebody else ! I would like to know how this is possible ???

    though it contains marketing stuff i'm unable to understand how in the hell it reached me ?

    email_scam.JPG
    i am also getting such wierd stuffs...

    the email id is mail2sc@gmail while mine is mail2sc@del1.. i dont know what the hell is this... better is to stay away from such sites... and not to sign up with them.

  3. #3
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    well if you post email id like you did above, i won't wonder why

    p.s. remove those ids for your own good

  4. #4
    MODDY mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Liked
    12 times
    Posts
    6,931

    Default

    first one is not mine, and second one is not complete.. its a long domain...

  5. #5
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    :lol:

    clever mickey

  6. #6
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Liked
    8 times
    Posts
    2,592

    Default

    who is shruti batra78

  7. #7
    MODDY mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Liked
    12 times
    Posts
    6,931

    Default

    interestingly i got daemon bounce back when i mailed the cited mail ids..

  8. #8
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by panchabhut View Post
    who is shruti batra78
    all ids mentioned there are unknown to me !

  9. #9
    MODDY mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Liked
    12 times
    Posts
    6,931

    Default

    batado np...
    is she your new gf???

  10. #10
    Jedi knight Luke Skywalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    23
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,175

    Default

    Sender Domain address is this 208.109.199.53 which is hold by GoDaddy.com which is a domain registring site.

    whois info:-

    OrgName: GoDaddy.com, Inc.
    OrgID: GODAD
    Address: 14455 N Hayden Road
    Address: Suite 226
    City: Scottsdale
    StateProv: AZ
    PostalCode: 85260
    Country: US

    NetRange: 208.109.0.0 - 208.109.255.255
    CIDR: 208.109.0.0/16
    NetName: GO-DADDY-SOFTWARE-INC
    NetHandle: NET-208-109-0-0-1
    Parent: NET-208-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: CNS1.SECURESERVER.NET
    NameServer: CNS2.SECURESERVER.NET
    NameServer: CNS3.SECURESERVER.NET
    Comment:
    RegDate: 2006-04-12
    Updated: 2007-06-14

    OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE51-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Abuse Department
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-480-624-2505
    OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@godaddy.com

    OrgNOCHandle: NOC124-ARIN
    OrgNOCName: Network Operations Center
    OrgNOCPhone: +1-480-505-8809
    OrgNOCEmail: noc@godaddy.com

    OrgTechHandle: NOC124-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Network Operations Center
    OrgTechPhone: +1-480-505-8809
    OrgTechEmail: noc@godaddy.com

    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2009-08-11 20:00
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
    Did anyone notice that sender & receiver are same. I think email was sent from this domain but by some other domain as it has its SMTP port open which I found out after scanning. If you want to take any action contact them. Also by the way , what was the site they were advertising. Give me its name.
    History is on the move,my friends.Those who cannot keep up will be left behind, to watch from distance.And those who stand in its way will not watch at all.http://windows7sins.org/
    People are going to tell stories about me none of which change who I really am.

  11. #11
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke Skywalker View Post
    Also by the way , what was the site they were advertising. Give me its name.
    Mobile SMS, send SMS to any mobile in India, SMS, SMS, text messaging, SMS chat, Mobile SMS, SMS to any network: Smsfi

  12. #12
    Jedi knight Luke Skywalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    23
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,175

    Default

    Whois info of this site:

    OrgName: Liquid Web, Inc.
    OrgID: LQWB
    Address: 4210 Creyts Rd.
    City: Lansing
    StateProv: MI
    PostalCode: 48917
    Country: US

    ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.liquidweb.com:4321/

    NetRange: 67.225.128.0 - 67.225.255.255
    CIDR: 67.225.128.0/17
    OriginAS: AS32244
    NetName: LIQUIDWEB-8
    NetHandle: NET-67-225-128-0-1
    Parent: NET-67-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS.LIQUIDWEB.COM
    NameServer: NS1.LIQUIDWEB.COM
    Comment:
    RegDate: 2007-11-26
    Updated: 2008-01-23

    OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE551-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Abuse
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-800-580-4985
    OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@liquidweb.com

    OrgTechHandle: IPADM47-ARIN
    OrgTechName: IP Administrator
    OrgTechPhone: +1-800-580-4985
    OrgTechEmail: ipadmin@liquidweb.com

    # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2009-08-11 20:00
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.


    Found a referral to rwhois.liquidweb.com:4321.

    %rwhois V-1.5:003eff:00 rwhois.liquidweb.com (by Network Solutions, Inc. V-1.5.7.4)
    network:Class-Name:network
    network:ID:NETBLK-SMSFICOM.67.225.186.189/32
    network:Auth-Area:67.225.128.0/17
    network:Network-Name:SMSFICOM-67.225.186.189
    network:IP-Network:67.225.186.189/32
    network:IP-Network-Block:67.225.186.189-67.225.186.189
    network:Organization;I:SMSFICOM
    network:Org-Name:smsfi.com
    network:Street-Address:6-D, Racquet Court Rd, Civil Lines, Delhi - 110054
    network:Cityelhi
    network:Stateelhi
    network:Postal-Code:110054
    network:Country-Code:India
    network:Tech ;I:vaibjain@gmail.com
    network:Abuse:abuse@sourcedns.com
    network:Created:20090812
    network:Updated:20090812
    network:Updated-By:admin@sourcedns.com

    network:Class-Name:network
    network:ID:NETBLK-SOURCEDNS.67.225.128.0/17
    network:Auth-Area:67.225.128.0/17
    network:Network-Name:SOURCEDNS-67.225.128.0
    network:IP-Network:67.225.128.0/17
    network:IP-Network-Block:67.225.128.0 - 67.225.255.255
    network:Organization;I:SOURCEDNS
    network:Org-Name:SourceDNS
    network:Street-Address:4210 Creyts Rd.
    network:City:Lansing
    network:State:MI
    network:Postal-Code:48917
    network:Country-Code:US
    network:Tech-Contact;I:admin@sourcedns.com
    network:Created:20071126
    network:Updated:20071126
    network:Updated-By:admin@sourcedns.com
    network:Abuse:abuse@sourcedns.com

    %ok
    This site is registered indirectly to GoDaddy.com

    Email was sent from the 208.109.199.53. Most probably by forging it as Shruti. Contact the vaibjain@gmail.com . If he don't take anyaction then network:Abuse. But network abuse is last resort.

    Email was not mis delivered. It is a new art of spamming.
    Last edited by Luke Skywalker; 08-13-09 at 01:40 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  13. #13
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    well first i'd like to see if any more mails come.
    i got two random mails actually.

    there was only one company who knew this ID and i wondering if they sold it or did sth like that.

    Thanks for the detective work :thumbup:
    Last edited by newprouser; 08-13-09 at 01:43 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  14. #14
    Jedi knight Luke Skywalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Age
    23
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,175

    Default

    I didn't knew about this type of spamming before. Only theoritically I knew not practically.

  15. #15
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    Its only a guess. btw the nigerian scammers are getting intelligent too. they get the numbers from local directory/companies and send messages. Inspite of subscribing to DNC,i get messages !

  16. #16
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Liked
    1 times
    Posts
    3,171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by newprouser View Post
    I jus got a mail which was probably meant for somebody else ! I would like to know how this is possible ???

    though it contains marketing stuff i'm unable to understand how in the hell it reached me ?
    Are you serious you are wondering how this is possible?
    I thought you would figure this out. This happens all the time
    in marketing junk mails and normal mails too.

    I put my own email in the to: list and the rest of the
    recipients in the Bcc: list.

    PB

  17. #17
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Punch Bala View Post
    Are you serious you are wondering how this is possible?
    I thought you would figure this out. This happens all the time
    in marketing junk mails and normal mails too.

    I put my own email in the to: list and the rest of the
    recipients in the Bcc: list.

    PB
    elementary, my dear Watson, and I missed !

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Email Address Validity Checker
    By meetdilip in forum Software News, Previews and Reviews
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-10, 08:09 PM
  2. Emails: where do you store them ?
    By essbebe in forum Windows
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-12-10, 09:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •