Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Hathway site hacked

  1. #1
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Liked
    57 times
    Posts
    6,142

    Default Hathway site hacked

    I request all our members and visitors not to visit the hathway official website which is hathway.com as it has been hacked and will install spyware on your computer without your conscent.

    If you have a Hathway related query please post here and other members will be able to help you out in case they know a solution.

    The site was hacked by some one yesterday and Hathway probbably doesnt even know...

    I have sent an e-mail to their registrant contact e-mail to advise them of this attack.

    This might be an insider job as well but any way its best to stay away from that site untill the sort it out.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Platinum Member Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,969

    Default

    How did you know that ?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2

    Default Hathway Site Hacked

    Well When You Seach It on google you will find that the site got hacked

  4. #4
    Platinum Member Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,969

    Default

    Yeah! Thanks. I hope Google is not going crazy. I tried to search Flashget (download manager) yesterday and Google said it have virus. Today they removed that Alert.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vishnus89 View Post
    Yeah! Thanks. I hope Google is not going crazy. I tried to search Flashget (download manager) yesterday and Google said it have virus. Today they removed that Alert.
    I was using Flashget yesterday. My antivirus mentioned that flashgetupdate some file is a virus

  6. #6
    Platinum Member Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,969

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jarsonline View Post
    I was using Flashget yesterday. My antivirus mentioned that flashgetupdate some file is a virus
    So Google is not going crazy. They might have improved their security.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator smoothvibes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Liked
    16 times
    Posts
    4,974

    Default

    google is the best one and they don't create mess like this so if google is saying that there is a problem then its better to stay away from that site

  8. #8
    Platinum Member Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,969

    Default

    Thanks! for the news admin. :clap:

    I checked the site using MCAFEE site adviser and got this.

    Rating: Phishing or other scams

    This site in India is currently sending phishing spam that says you have been chosen to receive $500,000 from MTN Telecom Network, and asking for your personal info including your next of kin!
    Source link: here
    Last edited by Archer; 10-17-08 at 07:52 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  9. #9
    Platinum Member Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2,969

    Default

    Seems Hathway is off the hook now. Google removed the Warning message. But still have the Bad repo.
    Last edited by Archer; 10-19-08 at 03:09 PM.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    36

    Unhappy

    Ahh, thats bad news (i use the hathway site regularly to verify my usage)

    I wonder how Hathway has managed to survive the competetion after all this.....
    I'm desperately waiting for BSNL so that I can trash Hathway

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    69

    Default

    We used hathway almost 4 years back and just heard back about them here

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Hathway site hacked

    Understood that any site can be hacked but I dont think the McAfee advisory is conclusive of the fact that the site was hacked. There's just too many things possible here.

    First, if someone were to start spamming and if he were to make it look like it was coming from someone@hathway.com - that's easy.

    Second - A hathway subscriber's pc is infected with a virus which has an encoded smtp engine - sending out spam - could be done with a few lines of code widely available over the internet. On tracing the originating mail relay server ip it's traced to hathway.

    There's more possibilities here but I am not ruling out the fact that the hathway.com site was hacked - but I just refuse to go in for an uneducated guess or assumption based on the fact that some user whose credentials I dont even know commented on having received spam from hathway.com

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Age
    27
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Looks many sites are hacked nowadys

    i hear that 13 yr old boy hacking rapidshare accounts hmmmm

    <edited>

    forum w are hacked this becomes intresting hope all of them use


    best antivirus protection
    Last edited by smoothvibes; 01-30-09 at 06:42 PM. Reason: Links Deleted

  14. #14
    Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    22
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    1,288

    Default


    @offtopic
    Hacking of rapidshare premium acc is nowadays a fashion

  15. #15
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by player View Post

    @offtopic
    Hacking of rapidshare premium acc is nowadays a fashion
    LOl!!!
    You are right man. The Black Hat Hacking has really become a kind of fashion these days.
    I had gone to many places where I found many Hacking Contests and show-offs going on.

    I have a new idea. Why don't we start a Hacking Contest for IBF?
    Whoever first hack IBF shall get the IBF as the prize...:lol:

  16. #16
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dhaneshv View Post
    I have a new idea. Why don't we start a Hacking Contest for IBF?Whoever first hack IBF shall get the IBF as the prize...:lol:
    .. and if he were to hack IBF itself what r u gonna gift him ??

  17. #17
    Amor vincit omnia
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Liked
    10 times
    Posts
    3,080

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dhaneshv View Post
    I have a new idea. Why don't we start a Hacking Contest for IBF?
    Whoever first hack IBF shall get the IBF as the prize...:lol:
    I seriously hope someone responsible is reading this !!

  18. #18
    Platinum Member mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Liked
    16 times
    Posts
    6,990

    Default

    hathway was perviously hacked up many a times.....
    i think its actually an insider who is doing this...
    sorry to hathway users, they cant even check their usage,.,its a real mess of something..

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Recently google had problem which used to declare all sites harmfull becoz of their own problem....i guess u talking abt that

  20. #20
    Amor vincit omnia
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Liked
    10 times
    Posts
    3,080

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by magnet View Post
    Recently google had problem which used to declare all sites harmfull becoz of their own problem....i guess u talking abt that
    Actually it was a hiccup with the malware site collaborating with google. Hence all the search results were listed as malware

  21. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cool_techie_tvm View Post
    Actually it was a hiccup with the malware site collaborating with google. Hence all the search results were listed as malware
    Actually wht i read in papers was....that forward slash was added in the scripts which is used to test malware...and since all site address had the same...'/' in its address all sites were shown as malware.....

    So i dont think it was malware but some poor programming from google....and inorder not to get bad name on it..they pass it as some bug/malware stuff

  22. #22
    saurav_k
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by magnet View Post
    Actually wht i read in papers was....that forward slash was added in the scripts which is used to test malware...and since all site address had the same...'/' in its address all sites were shown as malware.....

    So i dont think it was malware but some poor programming from google....and inorder not to get bad name on it..they pass it as some bug/malware stuff
    hmmm... interesting ...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. is uploading free in hathway
    By vinit in forum Hathway
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-10, 10:39 AM
  2. Paypal Phishing Site
    By harishsyndrome in forum Computer Accessories
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-15-10, 06:45 AM
  3. Hathway Broadband - IPO
    By hsinam in forum Investment and Finance
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-10, 03:04 PM
  4. Airtel radio hacked for free songs
    By devlevis in forum Airtel Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-10, 01:38 AM