Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Anyone received this email from mtnl customer care?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2

    Default Anyone received this email from mtnl customer care?

    Hi all,

    Has anyone received this email from MTNL customer care :

    Notification from mtnl maintenance Unit, We are currently carrying out an upgrade
    on our site for it had come to our Notice that some of our subscribers are introducing a virus into our site and
    it is affecting our network.

    We are trying to find out the specific subscriber. For this reason all
    subscribers are to provide their Details such as First Name, Last
    Name, Account User Name AND Password for us to verify and have them
    cleared against this virus.

    Kindly note that failure to response to this will lead to subscriber
    Account termination within the next 48 hours.

    Information to send;
    First Name:
    Last Name:
    User Name:
    Password:

    Regards.
    Dr.Lewis Dotti
    M.T.N.L Customer Care Center


    How to respond to it?

    Thanks in Advance,

  2. #2
    Guardian Angel just4kix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Liked
    10 times
    Posts
    10,903

    Default

    No ISP can ask for username and password. This is a phishing mail. Do not respond.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by just4kix View Post
    No ISP can ask for username and password. This is a phishing mail. Do not respond.
    Thanks! It came from :

    maintenanceunit@mtnl.net.in
    [maintenanceunit@gmail.com]

  4. #4
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Liked
    6 times
    Posts
    5,881

    Default

    Some one is just trying to collect user names and passwords so he/she can use them.

    Do not send your information as you may end up paying thousands in yuour next bill.

  5. #5
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Liked
    0 times
    Posts
    518

    Default

    This is a phishing mail

    He just wants to get your username and password, dont give any info

    also their are software which can emulate different e mail addresses like the e mail will look like it was sent from your email address, but would have come form a different e mail address, so dont fall pray to this , in this case he is using a gmail account LOL

  6. #6
    Guardian Angel just4kix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Liked
    10 times
    Posts
    10,903

    Default

    You could also report to the Police - Economic Offences Wing.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. MTNL Broadband Plans
    By Preeti_20 in forum MTNL broadband
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-21-11, 04:21 PM
  2. Email Address Validity Checker
    By meetdilip in forum Software News, Previews and Reviews
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-10, 08:09 PM