Results 1 to 40 of 40

LIVE OS review

  1. #1
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Lightbulb LIVE OS review

    I am going to post reviews for LIVE operating systems as I am a big fan of portable applications and LIVE OS are a big part of it.

    Everybody is welcome to contribute to this thread, you may also post your share of reviews if you have tried any LIVE OS.


    • If you post your review, please take care of the following:-
      • Post version and date of release of the OS
      • Post both pros and cons
      • Post at least one screen shot
      • Post the hardware configuration you used for testing



  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default Dsl!!!

    Attachment 2906

    What is DSL?
    Damn Small Linux is a very versatile 50MB mini desktop oriented Linux distribution.

    Damn Small is small enough and smart enough to do the following things:

    * Boot from a business card CD as a live linux distribution (LiveCD)
    * Boot from a USB pen drive
    * Boot from within a host operating system (that's right, it can run *inside* Windows)
    * Run very nicely from an IDE Compact Flash drive via a method we call "frugal install"
    * Transform into a Debian OS with a traditional hard drive install
    * Run light enough to power a 486DX with 16MB of Ram
    * Run fully in RAM with as little as 128MB (you will be amazed at how fast your computer can be!)
    * Modularly grow -- DSL is highly extendable without the need to customize

    DSL was originally developed as an experiment to see how many usable desktop applications can fit inside a 50MB live CD. It was at first just a personal tool/toy. But over time Damn Small Linux grew into a community project with hundreds of development hours put into refinements including a fully automated remote and local application installation system and a very versatile backup and restore system which may be used with any writable media including a hard drive, a floppy drive, or a USB device.

    DSL has a nearly complete desktop, and a tiny core of command line tools. All applications are chosen with the best balance of functionality, size and speed. Damn Small also has the ability to act as an SSH/FTP/HTTPD server right off of a live CD. In our quest to save space and have a fully functional desktop we've made many GUI administration tools which are fast yet still easy to use. What does DSL have?

    XMMS (MP3, CD Music, and MPEG), FTP client, Dillo web browser, Netrik web browser, FireFox, spreadsheet, Sylpheed email, spellcheck (US English), a word-processor (Ted), three editors (Beaver, Vim, and Nano [Pico clone]), graphics editing and viewing (Xpaint, and xzgv), Xpdf (PDF Viewer), emelFM (file manager), Naim (AIM, ICQ, IRC), VNCviwer, Rdesktop, SSH/SCP server and client, DHCP client, PPP, PPPoE (ADSL), a web server, calculator, generic and GhostScript printer support, NFS, Fluxbox and JWM window managers, games, system monitoring apps, a host of command line tools, USB support, and pcmcia support, some wireless support.

    Attachment 2907

    History
    --------

    DSL was originally conceived and maintained by John Andrews. The community now includes Robert Shingledecker, who created the MyDSL system, DSL Control Panel, and other features.

    DSL was originally based on Model-K, a 22 MB stripped-down version of Knoppix, but soon after was based on Knoppix proper, allowing much easier remastering and improvements.

    System requirements
    ------------------------

    DSL supports only x86 PCs. The minimum system requirements are a 486 processor and 8 MB of RAM. DSL has been demonstrated browsing the web with Dillo, running simple games and playing music on systems with a 486 processor and 16 MB of RAM. The system requirements are higher for running Mozilla Firefox and optional add-ons such as the OpenOffice.org office suite. It is often used in VirtualBox due to its small size and modest requirement of RAM

    Features
    ----------

    The current version of DSL is 4.4.10, released November 18, 2008. DSL currently includes the following software:

    * Text editors: Beaver, Nano, Vim
    * File managers: DFM, emelFM
    * Graphics: MtPaint, xzgv (image viewer)
    * Multimedia: gphone, XMMS with MPEG-1 and VCD support
    * Office: SIAG (spreadsheet program), Ted (word processor) with spell checker, Xpdf (viewer for PDF documents)
    * Internet:
    o Web browsers: Dillo, Firefox, Netrik
    o Sylpheed (E-mail client)
    o naim (AIM, ICQ, and IRC client)
    o AxyFTP (FTP client,, BetaFTPD (FTP server)
    o Monkey (web server)
    o SMB client
    o Rdesktop (RDP client), VNC viewer
    * Others: DHCP client, SSH/SCP client and server; PPP, PPPoE, ADSL support; FUSE, NFS, SSHFS support; UnionFS; generic/Ghostscript printing support; PC card, USB, Wi-Fi support; calculator, games, system monitor; many command-line tools

    DSL has built-in scripts to download and install Advanced Packaging Tool (APT). Once APT is enabled, the user can install packages from Debian's 'Woody' repository. Additionally, DSL hosts software ranging from large applications like OpenOffice.org and GCC, to smaller ones such as aMSN, by means of the "MyDSL" system, which allows convenient one-click download and installation of software. Files hosted on MyDSL are called "extensions". As of June 2008, the MyDSL servers were hosting over 900 applications, plugins, and other extensions.

    Boot options
    --------------

    Boot options are also called "cheat codes" in DSL, Knoppix and Morphix. Automatic hardware detection may fail, or the user may want to use something other than the default settings (language, keyboard, VGA, fail safe graphics, text mode...). DSL allows the user to enter one or more cheat codes at the boot prompt. If nothing is entered, DSL will boot with the default options. Cheat codes affect many auto-detection and hardware options. Many cheat codes also affect the GUI. The list of cheat codes can be seen at boot time and also at the DSL Wiki.

    The MyDSL system
    ---------------------

    MyDSL is handled and maintained mostly by Robert Shingledecker and hosted by many organizations, such as ibiblio and Belgium's BELNET. There are 2 areas of MyDSL - regular and "testing". The regular area contains extensions that have been proven stable enough for everyday use and is broken down into different areas such as "apps", "net", "system", and "uci" ("Universal Compressed ISO" - Extensions in .uci format are mounted as a separate filesystem to minimize RAM usage). The "testing" area is for newly submitted extensions that theoretically work 'as advertised', but may have any number of bugs.

    Versions and ports:

    The standard flavour of DSL is the Live CD. There are also other versions available:

    * 'Frugal' installation: DSL's 'cloop' image is installed, as a single file, to a hard disk partition. This is likely more reliable and secure than a traditional hard drive installation, since the cloop image cannot be directly modified; any changes made are only stored in memory and discarded upon rebooting.

    * 'dsl-version-embedded.zip': Includes QEMU for running DSL inside Windows or Linux.
    * 'dsl-version-initrd.iso': Integrates the normally-separate cloop image into the initrd image; this allows network booting, using PXE. As a regular toram boot, requires at least 128mb ram.[citation needed]
    * 'dsl-version-syslinux.iso': Boots using syslinux floppy image emulation instead of isolinux; for very old PCs that cannot boot with isolinux.
    * 'dsl-version-vmx.zip': A virtual machine that can be run in VMware Workstation or VMware Player.
    * DSL-N: A larger version of DSL that exceeds the 50 MB limit of business-card CDs. DSL-N uses version 2 of the GTK+ widget toolkit and version 2.6 of the Linux kernel. The latest release of DSL-N, 0.1RC4, is 95 MB in size. It is not actively maintained.

    One can also boot DSL using a boot-floppy created from one of the available floppy images ('bootfloppy.img'; 'bootfloppy-grub.img'; 'bootfloppy-usb.img'; or 'pcmciabootfloppy.img') on very old computers, where the BIOS does not support the El Torito Bootable CD Specification. The DSL kernel is loaded from the floppy disk into RAM, after which the kernel runs DSL from the CD or USB drive.

    DSL was ported to the Xbox video game console as X-DSL. X-DSL requires a modified Xbox. It can run as a Live CD or be installed to the Xbox hard drive. Users have also run X-DSL from a USB flash drive, using the USB adaptor included with Phantasy Star Online, which plugs into the memory card slot and includes one USB 1.1 port. X-DSL boots into a X11-based GUI; the Xbox controller can be used to control the mouse pointer and enter text using a virtual keyboard. X-DSL has a Fluxbox desktop, with programs for E-mail, web browsing, word processing and playing music. X-DSL can be customized by downloading extensions from the same MyDSL servers as DSL.

    Version Date
    1.0............2005-04-13
    1.1............2005-05-05
    1.2............2005-06-07
    1.3............2005-07-14
    1.4............2005-08-02
    1.5............2005-09-06
    2.0............2005-11-22
    2.4............2006-05-16
    3.0............2006-06-20
    3.1............2006-11-29
    3.2............2007-01-18
    3.3............2007-04-03
    3.4............2007-07-03
    4.0............2007-10-23
    4.1............2007-12-02
    4.2............2007-12-18
    4.3............2008-04-22
    4.4............2008-06-09

    Screens:
    ----------

    Attachment 2908

    Attachment 2909
    Efficient multitasker

    Now I use this as when I can't carry my laptops during vacations [coz when there are computers around It's hard for me to get away from them].
    What about "Cons" -- None [we can have a debate but ultimately you get what you want].

    The fact that a its so small [or "damn small"] you can get it on a 64GB SanDisk USB Drive and use as regular HDD replacement. which saves RS 5000.

    For a Live OS this is truely remarkable as to what can be achieved in the world of Linux.[And you get to realise that Microsoft sell you crap for RS 20,000]

    So after a no so "Damn Small Review" post in your comments, but more importantly rate this thread rep the starter and the reviewers [don't forget me].

  3. #3
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shady911 View Post
    Attachment 2906

    What is DSL?
    .................................................. .................................
    .................................................. .................................
    .................................................. .................................
    .................................................. .................................
    .................................................. .................................
    So after a no so "Damn Small Review" post in your comments, but more importantly rate this thread rep the starter and the reviewers [don't forget me].
    Really big review.

  4. #4
    Its Time To Change ! deepmohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    I have used KNOPPIX - V.5.1.1
    New Latest stable release, 6.0.1 / 2009-02-08

    + really impressed the way it configures all the devices automatically..unk:
    - hardly any..?

    I just want to know how to create a USB One.

    Sorry cant post screenshots it is not getting started on my notebook.
    Last edited by deepmohan; 22nd May 2009 at 02:27 AM.

  5. #5
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Here is the page for installation of knoppix 5, same works for knoppix 6 as well(tested), as you are saying that your lappy fails to boot from cd.(use with care, read thoroughly, otherwise you may end up overwriting you HDD MBR)

    USB Knoppix 5.1.1 install | USB Pen Drive Linux

    otherwise create usb as instructed in the following link(booting from cd).

    Installing Knoppix 6.0 to a USB Flash Drive | USB Pen Drive Linux
    Any queries , ask me.

  6. #6
    Its Time To Change ! deepmohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post
    Here is the page for installation of knoppix 5, same works for knoppix 6 as well(tested), as you are saying that your lappy fails to boot from cd.(use with care, read thoroughly, otherwise you may end up overwriting you HDD MBR)
    i tried 2 times it failed then i didnt just because not to end up with my data..

    someone was talking about cheatcodes i am not sure about it...

  7. #7
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    What exactly did you do, can you tell me , step by step?

  8. #8
    Its Time To Change ! deepmohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post
    What exactly did you do, can you tell me , step by step?
    1) Inserted the CD
    2) It got Booted from CD
    3) Started Instillation and got Struck.
    4) Image >>

  9. #9
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    I think the download was corrupt, as it says knoppix file system not found, that means it was unable to load knoppix image from disc.BTW , have you verified the data on CD after burning ?

    Now you try with pendrive method.
    1-Download this.
    2-http://www.pendrivelinux.com/downloads/fixkp2.exe
    3-double-click, extract to any folder
    4-read the instructions on this page
    5-http://www.pendrivelinux.com/usb-knoppix-510/
    6-install knoppix from iso to pendrive

    If that fails then definitely there is a problem with the image.
    Try downloading it once more.

    Any problem tell me.

  10. #10
    Its Time To Change ! deepmohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post
    I think the download was corrupt, as it says knoppix file system not found, that means it was unable to load knoppix image from disc.BTW , have you verified the data on CD after burning ?

    Now you try with pendrive method.
    1-Download this.
    2-http://www.pendrivelinux.com/downloads/fixkp2.exe
    3-double-click, extract to any folder
    4-read the instructions on this page
    5-http://www.pendrivelinux.com/usb-knoppix-510/
    6-install knoppix from iso to pendrive

    If that fails then definitely there is a problem with the image.
    Try downloading it once more.

    Any problem tell me.
    thanks dear for USB one
    i too think like that CD might have got corrupted but i have used it many times on my desktop well will try with USB one.

  11. #11
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Now, using the pclinux-2009.1-live.
    Review, coming tomorrow.

  12. #12
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    OS tested:-

    • pclinux-2009.1-live.

    Hardware configuration used:-

    • AMD 64 athlon 2800+
    • 2.5GB DDR400 RAM
    • main board-K8V-x-with-SATA-RAID
    • 7600GS-512MB dedicated
    • Pinnacle media center Tuner
    • Siemens C2110 DSL modem
    • SATA and IDE HDDs

    Overview
    A normal kde 3 desktop with compiz fusion 0.7.8 with general set of applications. There were two logins, root and guest, I tried only root. This linux distro was good , but I must say, it still needs the touch of that elegance as you can always feel the blank space between usability and user friendliness while using it.
    -----------------------------------------
    Pros

    • loads fast
    • login screen shows up with two accounts pre-configured, and password written on the screen
      • root
      • guest

    • good GUI
    • compiz fusion-0.7.8 with beryl embedded
    • proprietary drivers included
    • configuring modem in pppoe mode was successful
    • user friendly
    • compiz animations were crispy and the desktop was lovely with beryl
    • I felt a little bit of improvement in browsing speed than windows.

    Cons

    • When I tried to create a USB live from the given installation program, the installation completes, but next time does not boot from the new installed system throwing an error- file not found(did not try the live CD creation tool as i am using the live CD)
    • Very limited set of applications
    • while customizing the console with transparent background, if compiz is enabled, the console looks green
    • during modem configuration the system just resets and goes tpo loon screen, could not find the reason, this happened several times(tested on two different PCs)
    • While configuring the modem in DHCP mode, the network shows connected but there happens to be conflict between the default IP of etho and the IP provided by ISP, so even if the network config shows success, the PC still cannot access internet(PPP mode worked fine).
    • The DSL configuration is a bit tricky, the network action are a bit laggy , so you to use trial and error method if you don't know how to use the DSL configuration.
    • sometimes beryl crashes and stops responding, although it does not have any effect on the desktop or your working
    • If the desktop icons are disabled the desktop goes black
    • Attachment 2945

    Attachment 2944

    Attachment 2946

    waiting for comments

  13. #13
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    It looks OK. But, even the look has to improve a bit. In my opinion Fedora is now really good in that part. One of the best GUIs. And if you are using KDE, then it will be just wonderful (in looks).

    Check the Fedora 10 KDE Live CD. It's really worth checking out. But, it has some notable cons also. I am looking forward to June 2 (Fedora 11 Final Release date).
    Don't know whether I will have time to check it out. Anyway, it might prove really challenging to Ubuntu.

    Everything's improving (or, I hope so).

    P.S: Good review. Repo added.

  14. #14
    kirankumargb
    Guest

    Default

    It looks ok but not breath taking... the first look i saw i flt there is something missing.

  15. #15
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dhaneshv View Post
    It looks OK. But, even the look has to improve a bit. In my opinion Fedora is now really good in that part. One of the best GUIs. And if you are using KDE, then it will be just wonderful (in looks).

    Check the Fedora 10 KDE Live CD. It's really worth checking out. But, it has some notable cons also. I am looking forward to June 2 (Fedora 11 Final Release date).
    Don't know whether I will have time to check it out. Anyway, it might prove really challenging to Ubuntu.

    Everything's improving (or, I hope so).

    P.S: Good review. Repo added.
    I have tried Fedora 10 live and the GUI is cool, but could not post the review because this morning my SMPS went down with a big spark.

    Now I have to get a new one. Then only I can post the review.

    Still, when I tried to enable compiz on Fedora 10 LIVE, the desktop just went blank. So I have to try it again.

  16. #16
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post
    I have tried Fedora 10 live and the GUI is cool, but could not post the review because this morning my SMPS went down with a big spark.

    Now I have to get a new one. Then only I can post the review.

    Still, when I tried to enable compiz on Fedora 10 LIVE, the desktop just went blank. So I have to try it again.
    If you are planning to give a review on Fedora 10 Live, then you may want to wait for just about 7 more days, when you can get Fedora 11. It's Alpha had already proved out to be pretty good. I don't know about the Beta and Release Candidates, as I had not tried them.

    Will be waiting for your review for Fedora 11 Live.

  17. #17
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dhaneshv View Post
    If you are planning to give a review on Fedora 10 Live, then you may want to wait for just about 7 more days, when you can get Fedora 11. It's Alpha had already proved out to be pretty good. I don't know about the Beta and Release Candidates, as I had not tried them.

    Will be waiting for your review for Fedora 11 Live.
    I was thinking the same.

    But as I have already downloaded it, so now I just need to take a look at the F10 .Let the F11 come.

    If I get time I will post reviews for both of them.

    In that way it would become a comparative analysis.

    Has anybody tried elive ?


    Quote Originally Posted by kirankumargb View Post
    the first look i saw i flt there is something missing.
    I felt the same.
    Last edited by puchu; 26th May 2009 at 10:30 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  18. #18
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post

    Has anybody tried elive ?


    I felt the same.
    No.

    Quote Originally Posted by kirankumargb View Post
    It looks ok but not breath taking... the first look i saw i flt there is something missing.
    And I was not an exception.

  19. #19
    Junior Member VJ Harsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hey can u tell me from where can i get the LIVE CD ,,and also steps for installing it..........

  20. #20
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VJ Harsh View Post
    Hey can u tell me from where can i get the LIVE CD ,,and also steps for installing it..........
    A Live OS is not 'installed'. You can try out one without making any changes to your system, that is, the safe way. You can find many Live CD's in the internet, which are free to download and use. you can get it through torrents, or through direct links. Just search in Google for Live Cd. You may want to try out Knoppix Live CD or Ubuntu first.

    You can check out the others later.

    P.S: You will be able to install the OS after booting in with the Live CD, if you like the OS. Some functions might not be available in the Live Environment.

  21. #21
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Hey friends I am leaving for home today. I will not be able to post the Fedora review at the earliest. It would be great if anybody can do it for me or else I will be back by 8th , then I will do it.

    And BTW try elive "live CD". It is something different.

  22. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    59

    Default Here you have it - Debian 5.0 (Lenny)

    Almost two years since the appearance of version 4.0, aka Etch, the Debian development team have released version 5.0 (Lenny).

    For the first time in a stable release, the graphical Debian Installer is included in the distribution. This is likely to prove particularly appealing to Linux beginners, who are put off by the standard text mode installer. Text mode remains the default mode though and users preferring to use the graphical version must explicitly select it in the boot menu.

    Don't expect too much from the graphical Debian Installer – it's little more than a mouse-driven version of the text mode programme, spruced up with a few graphical elements. The hard drive partitioning function is just as spartan and as unclear as the text version. The Debian Installer does not include the kind of user-friendly dialogues, or graphical overviews found in, for example, the Debian derived distributions. Bootloader installation is unnecessarily cryptic under Debian Lenny. If you wish to save Grub into the boot sector of the root partition, you have to enter the installation path in Grub notation, which, due to its particular way of counting, can be a challenge, even for experienced Linux users. According to the release notes for Debian Lenny, Grub no longer uses the device name to assign the root partition, but instead the UUID of the file system – in fact it is the disk ID (disk by ID) which is entered. This means that if a restore is performed following a hard drive error, it is necessary to re-edit the Grub configuration before Lenny is able to reboot. On the plus side, the Debian Installer is able to configure software RAID; RAID configuration in Ubuntu 8.10 still requires the user to utilise the text mode installer.

    NOTE: The partition manager in the Debian Installer is not particularly user-friendly

    Hardware detection during installation is good, although, thanks to the Debian decision to make the core distribution truly free and open source, firmware files for Wifi and various network adaptors are missing from the installation CD. These files are to be found in the non-free repository on the internet. For systems which use these interfaces to establish their internet connections, this becomes something of a chicken and egg situation.

    User-friendly desktop Linux
    -------------------------------
    One new feature is the use of the no-configuration X.org 7.3. There are now no hardware-related entries in the X11 configuration file – /etc/X11/xorg.conf. This worked with both AMD and Nvidia graphics cards which, by default, loaded only the open source drivers. There is, however, no mechanism for automatically installing the proprietary graphics drivers, despite the fact that they are listed in the non-free repository – users are forced to utilise either the Synaptic packet management system or go to the command line.

    Lenny installs Gnome as the default graphical desktop, which is also used by the Debian derivative – Ubuntu. The Debian default installation is, however, missing a few programs, such as the complete Bluetooth stack for connecting Bluetooth devices. The idea is to have only tried and tested software considered for stable releases. For users, however, this means putting up with diminished functionality in borderline cases – especially with regard to drivers, since Lenny sticks with the 2.6.26 kernel, in contrast to Fedora 10, OpenSuse 11.1 and Ubuntu 8.10, which all utilise Linux kernel version 2.6.27.

    For the very latest hardware, particularly with fully integrated motherboards, a slightly newer kernel can make the difference between unusable or limited functionality and unrestricted hardware support.While the 2.6.27 kernel used by Fedora 10 and OpenSuse 11.1 was able to output sound via the optical and electrical SPDIF output, without any problem on my system, under Lenny it remained mute.

    If the non-free repository has been activated and programs such as Totem and Kaffeine have been installed, the major codecs are downloaded along with them, regardless of whether or not they are open source or whether they are patented or licensed. This meant that it was just as easy to play a DVB-T on Kaffeine, as it was to play an MPEG-2 video on Totem. The Brasero and K3B burning applications are unable to burn Blu-ray media with UDF 2.6 because UDF Tools is unable to create UDF 2.6 file systems – UDF 2.5 support is, however, impeccable.

    Overall, Debian Lenny remains eminently suitable as a desktop operating system and has become more user-friendly since the Etch release. Network set-up using Network Manager, for example, works well with only the management of multiple locations for the same network device, and therefore multi-network configuration, failing to work. Users who use their computers at just a single location, or are happy with DHCP, will not be disadvantaged. Automatic USB printer set-up, a very practical feature for laptops, has been a feature of Ubuntu for some time. According to the release notes, Debian now has it too.

    Since Etch, the Debian development team have revamped virtualisation. They have updated to Xen version 3.2.1, support additional KVMs (kernel virtual machines) and even offer the option of deploying Qemu, via network boot. Desktop virtualisation solution VirtualBox is also available, even if it is the rather antiquated version 1.6.6.

    An interesting feature for server use is that, according to the release notes, various packages have been compiled with the hardening options offered by GCC or, as for PHP, hardening patches have been added to improve the packages security. This should make services less vulnerable to attack. Major server services, such as MySQL 5.1, PostgreSQL 8.3 and Nagios 3 have also been updated.

    Last words:
    -------------

    Lenny can be deployed with confidence on the desktop, by both beginners and experienced Linux users and is significantly more user-friendly than its predecessor, Etch. There are big improvements to network configuration and automatic printer set-up. For virtualisation, in addition to an updated version of Xen, there is a now a second virtualisation system suitable for server use, available in the form of KVM. The omission of major firmware files from the installation media is annoying, since now support for Wifi adaptors and gigabit network cards, may need to be downloaded and installed separately.

    I'll post some screens soon be patient.

    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post

    And BTW try elive "live CD". It is something different.
    Yup buddy I'm trying it out, posting a review soon.
    Last edited by shady911; 29th May 2009 at 09:07 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    1

    Question Information

    Hello,

    Please tell what is Live OS? I mean which type of operating systems are said to be "live".

    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post
    I am going to post reviews for LIVE operating systems as I am a big fan of portable applications and LIVE OS are a big part of it.

    Everybody is welcome to contribute to this thread, you may also post your share of reviews if you have tried any LIVE OS.


    • If you post your review, please take care of the following:-
      • Post version and date of release of the OS
      • Post both pros and cons
      • Post at least one screen shot
      • Post the hardware configuration you used for testing


    //Moderator note: You have not activated your account. Please click on the link in the mail you received from the forum admin in your mailbox. Failure to do so will cause all your posts go into moderation.
    - just4kix

  24. #24
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    @shady911

    The purpose of this thread was not to copy-paste material from other sites and ask for repo for what you call "a review". Just became curious when you posted this second big review and found that both of your review have been exact copy-paste. And, I can give proper evidence to prove myself.


    Quote Originally Posted by shady911 View Post
    What is DSL?
    ................................................
    ................................................
    ................................................
    ................................................
    So after a no so "Damn Small Review" post in your comments, but more importantly rate this thread rep the starter and the reviewers [don't forget me].
    Copied From: DSL information, Damn Small Linux - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    You can claim only this part to be your 'genuine' content:
    Quote Originally Posted by shady911 View Post
    Now I use this as when I can't carry my laptops during vacations [coz when there are computers around It's hard for me to get away from them].
    What about "Cons" -- None [we can have a debate but ultimately you get what you want].

    The fact that a its so small [or "damn small"] you can get it on a 64GB SanDisk USB Drive and use as regular HDD replacement. which saves RS 5000.

    For a Live OS this is truely remarkable as to what can be achieved in the world of Linux.[And you get to realise that Microsoft sell you crap for RS 20,000]

    So after a no so "Damn Small Review" post in your comments, but more importantly rate this thread rep the starter and the reviewers [don't forget me].
    Quote Originally Posted by shady911 View Post
    Almost two years since the appearance of version 4.0, aka Etch, the Debian development team have released version 5.0 (Lenny).
    .....................................
    .....................................
    .....................................
    I'll post some screens soon be patient.
    Copied From: Debian 5.0 (Lenny) first look - The H Open Source: News and Features

    But, you had let out one paragraph from the page I have linked to.
    Only the last two sentences were not copied in this second review:
    Quote Originally Posted by shady911 View Post
    I'll post some screens soon be patient.

    Yup buddy I'm trying it out, posting a review soon.
    I can't wait to see your next review. :w00t:

  25. #25
    newprouser
    Guest

    Default

    ^^ and wat is saurav_k doing all this while ?

  26. #26
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by newprouser View Post
    ^^ and wat is saurav_k doing all this while ?
    fftopic: :
    And what did that mean? :w00t:

    Ohhh.................Detective?

  27. #27
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dhaneshv View Post
    @shady911

    The purpose of this thread was not to copy-paste material from other sites and ask for repo for what you call "a review". Just became curious when you posted this second big review and found that both of your review have been exact copy-paste. And, I can give proper evidence to prove myself.

    I was about to say the same thing.

    I intended to use this thread for posting reviews, that means use a live OS, then write about how you feel during the use, the drawbacks, the positive points etc.

    Try to make it compact and point to point, so that anybody who reads it ,won't have to read a book to find a single phrase.

  28. #28
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K_A_CS View Post
    Hello,

    Please tell what is Live OS? I mean which type of operating systems are said to be "live".

    Thanks
    You can refer to Wikipedia for details about it: Live CD - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

  29. #29
    Its Time To Change ! deepmohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,418

    Default

    :detective: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

  30. #30
    Just4kick
    Guest

    Default

    etective: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

  31. #31
    Its Time To Change ! deepmohan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,418

    Default ubuntu-9.04 reviews

    Ubuntu 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope)

    System used:

    HP Notebook
    AMD Turion-X2 64 2.10GHz
    4GB DDR2 800 MHz
    ATI Radeon 512 dedicated
    SATA HDD
    ITI DNA-A211-I ADSL Modem

    A small review

    Pros:

    • Simple and Clean look
    • Easy to use
    • Can easily install it from Live CD to HDD.



    Cons:

    • Took more boot time (compared to knoppix)
    • Drivers for Graphics card and Wi-Fi where not available have to download it.
    • Found Net speed to be slow (compared to Knoppix)










    Last edited by deepmohan; 3rd June 2009 at 03:59 PM.
    ___________________________________

    Cheers...!

  32. #32
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    One small advice . Please post your images in JPG or GIF formats. PNG images are larger, thus ,take longer to load on a slow connection.

  33. #33

  34. #34
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    OS tested-->

    • Fedora 11 KDE-LIVE
    • Fedora 11-DVD-X86-64 installer


    Hardware used-->



    PC

    • Processor: AMD 64 Atlon-2800+
    • RAM: 2.5GB DDR400
    • Graphics: nvidia 7600GS-512MB
    • TV tuner: Pinnacle media center
    • HDD: HITYACHI and Seagate-SATA and Samsung-IDE
    • ODD: HITACHI DVD/RW-SONY DVD/CD
    • UPS: APC Back UPS-ES 500
    • MODEM: C2110 SIEMENS (ISP-BSNL)


    LAPTOP


    • Processor: Intel Dual Core 2GHz
    • RAM: 2GB DDR2
    • Graphics: onboard-intel-64MB
    • HDD: SATA
    • ODD: DVD/RW
    • MODEM: C2110

    ---------------------------------------

    Fedora release 11, though late but came out a few very good changes. I was about to post review for Fedora 11 kde LIVE, but then I thought of downloading the DVD also and tried it and found out some big differences.
    ---------------------------------------

    Advantages common to both distros:


    • Both the GUIs are almost 99% same
    • Both share the same network functionalities and flexibility as usual
    • Unmounted file systems can be mounted right from the explorer window with full RW access (for NTFS partitions also) with only the root password which lasts for one session.
    • Both support virtualization
    • Easily configurable system
    • Boot time is comparatively low
    • As usual this Fedora system is also a heaven for developers
    • My modem was configured in 4 clicks
    • TV worked better than windows as usual


    Flaws common to both distros:

    • Although the desktop effects worked good on the laptop without(or with limited graphics functionality) graphics card, the effects were terrible on my desktop with a fairly good graphics card
    • It is known that Fedora does not support multimedia types like AVI, mp3 etc, and it’s no different this time. You have to install codecs manually.


    ---------------------------------------
    Fedora 11 LIVE KDE:
    Advantages:

    • Although on a CD, it comes with full set of tools anybody would ever need
    • Gives you freedom of creating a LIVE USB OS out of the LIVE CD
    • Comes with more number of desktop themes than the DVD distro
    • Files system are mounted with full RWX access by default
    • Works better than the DVD OS , the difference can be felt during normal web browsing, file access, and also the LIVE OS comes with more GUI customizable options .



    Flaws:

    • The LIVE OS gives you the ease of installing the OS permanently right from your live desktop, but it fails at around half way of installation when done from a USB booted LIVE OS. except one->discussed in flaws section below), There is another major drawback in installation of Fedora LIVE—while doing manual partitioning, the installer would not continue until you create an ext4 partition for root and an ext3 partition for /boot, you must provide two partitions.
    • Sometimes while configuring the modem the x server crashes and screen just goes blank , the session ends without a clue and goes to the logon screen or to the console window(this is less frequent in DVD installed OS)


    ---------------------------------------

    Fedora 11 DVD=X86-64( installed system ):
    Advantages:

    • The installation and partitioning worked very well without any problem (, although I prefer manual partitioning, I just selected “Replace the old LINUX installation” and everything was done automatically with an option of reviewing the partition table after auto allocation of file systems.
    • This time Fedora uses ext4 file system for OS installation
    • The OS updates itself automatically without any interference.


    Flaws:


    • The desktop comes with only one theme, fewer number of splash screens while the LIVE version comes with loads of them (strange). While trying to get new themes also the search tool never connects or draws anything from internet for updating.
    • The desktop is set to a lower level of resolution sometimes than the maximum supported(on my desktop), even if you change the resolution, it will revert back to the original resolution after reboot.(only happened for my desktop- not the laptop)
    • I was not able to set the date and time to my system time after a no of tries , the time zones do not show any Indian place (this was a very short observation- you may find one for India-tell me), and I could not set the OS time to my system time either.
    • Although the automatic update works flawless but I like the manual update and thats what did not work here. Once you try to update manually, a search begins and never ends. i don't know whether the search is for finding the installed packages or for any task to respond or something else.(I need help here.)
    • The automatic update settings should be set manually to notify or the OS will download and install updates without your knowledge, which may cost users like me who use limited download connections like HOME 500.(This is not a flaw, this is just an observation)

    The never ending search while trying manual install or update.
    Attachment 4057
    Attachment 4059

    The poor scratchy desktop effects.

    Attachment 4058



    I don't think I have left anything major, but any help in finding them will be appreciated.


    ---------------------------------------
    Bottom line:
    Fedora 3 was my first LINUX.
    I was using Mandriva before Fedara-11, and I am going right back to Mandriva.
    Lets see what comes next.
    ---------------------------------------


    This review was solely system specific and your opinion may vary,

    waiting for comments.
    ---------------------------------------

    Next review- elive

  35. #35
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K_A_CS View Post
    Hello,

    Please tell what is Live OS? I mean which type of operating systems are said to be "live".

    Thanks


    //Moderator note: You have not activated your account. Please click on the link in the mail you received from the forum admin in your mailbox. Failure to do so will cause all your posts go into moderation.
    - just4kix
    In short Live operating system is one which you can boot and run right from any portable media ( CD, DVD, Memory card, thumbdrive etc) without installing anything on to the hard drive.

  36. #36
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by puchu View Post
    Next review- elive
    I just tested elive 1.9.32-(unstable) version and found out too many bugs, so I would skip this one and wait for the stable version to be released. In the mean time suggest some more live OS for review.

  37. #37
    The One
    Guest

    Default

    Great review puchu!! :14: :14:

    That was a great work. :thumbup1:

    I have not tried out the release yet and don't think that I will be able to do that soon.
    Anyway, let's wait and see.

    P.S: Rep++++++

  38. #38
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    I was trying to boot "Mandriva One 2009"(not 2009.1) from USB ,
    I have already tried using unetbootin, have tried the syslinux method too, but to no avail.
    This copy of LINUX is booting fine from CD.

    And another LINUX I found out the other day- "Sabayon".
    I found it interesting .It is available in both KDE and Genome flavors.
    To boot it from pendrive ,use unetbootin, but to boot it from an external hard disk , you may have to manually make it bootable, using syslinux method, because unetbootin sometimes fails to make it bootable. I will try to post the details ASAP.
    I do not have my net connection yet. As soon as I get it I will post a review.

    I have to go now.................byeeeeeee

  39. #39
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    OS tested:-

    • Sabayon 4.1-G

    Hardware used:-

    • ·AMD 64 2800+
    • ·2.5GB DDR 400
    • ·SATA HDDs
    • ·Nvidia 7600GS-512 MB dedicated
    • ·Pinnacle media center tuner


    Introduction:


    1. Gentoo based OS
    2. Latest in the series is Sabayon 5.0
    3. Available in 2 main flavors-KDE and Gnome
    4. Full installer DVD versions also available but till version 4.0 R1
    5. Last 3 versions are


    • Sabayon LINUX -4.1
      • amd64_G.iso
      • amd64_K.iso
      • x86_G.iso
      • x86_K.iso

    • Sabayon LINUX -4.2
      • amd64_G.iso
      • md64_K.iso
      • x86_G.iso
      • x86_K.iso

    • Sabayon LINUX -5.0
      • amd64_G.iso
      • amd64_K.iso
      • amd64_K.iso.orig
      • x86_G.iso
      • x86_K.iso


    Almost all the previous and current versions are available in the following mirror.

    Index of /pub/sabayon/

    Pros:


    • Very good GUI and loads of configurable options
    • The LIVE distro comes with installation support right from the LIVE desktop
    • Compiz and emerald theme manager embedded
    • Almost all the generic day to day used tools and softwares included
    • A search tool is embedded named as “Gnome do” to find any application which can find almost all softwares and services while searching by name
    • The system monitor embedded shows system data at a precision of as low as 500ms
    • Good driver support for both most new nvidia and ATI cards. I used the twin view option in graphics card for monitor and TV, my TV was detected easily.
    • LIVE OS of both KDE and Gnome flavors have independent 32 bit and 64 bit versions
    • ·Sabayon 4.1 has a very limited capability CD/DVD burning software, where as 5.0 has fully fledged version of the same with almost all data and media capabilities.
    • Wine embedded
    • Regular updates available
    • This OS is for users who want to have a good LINUX desktop with sparkling GUI for day to day use like surfing the net, watching videos, listening to music etc
    • Very similar task manager like MS bases operating systems, but still very accessible and unique
    • Almost all media codecs included

    Modem configuration is too easy. All the Gnome distros have DSL modem driver and mobile BB support.(KDE versions lack here)
    Cons:

    • Resource hungry, you should have more than 1Gig of RAM for smooth operation, a graphics card is added advantage
    • Lacks TV tuner software (but can be found in the FTP repository, never tried it)
    • The system monitor in Sabayon 4.2 does not work.
    • Sabayon 5.0 fails to detect sound card.
    • Emerald becomes irresponsive sometimes(manageable)
    • Not many tools included for development purpose
    • CD/DVD tool in 4.1 is crappy
    • Bootloader does not reflect the actual text included for any OS during bootloader installation.(Ex-for Xp if you enter X during bootloader installation , still it shows other OS on the boot screen)
    • Strangely enough all the Gnome versions have DSL modem and mobile BB support but not the KDE versions, so I preferred the Gnome 4.1(only lacks CD/DVD burning and TV)



    Misc:

    • If you want to try the LIVE OS(almost any) from USB, then download unetbootin and the LIVE ISO image,
    • open unetbootin, browse to the ISO file,
    • select your drive letter of thumb drive (be careful here, you may end up making your native drive unbootable if you select wrong drive letter, unetbootin makes the selected drive bootable only to boot the LIVE OS)
    • The above procedure does not work for external HDDs; there is another way for it.
    • Press next, that’s all
    • Now select your thumb drive as first boot device and boot from it
    • For advanced users: you may like to edit the syslinux config file for more specific boot parameters like, booting music, autoload of gfx driver and compiz, verbose booting etc.

    Attachment 6240
    Attachment 6241
    ==============================
    Bottom line:

    I liked the OS very much in spite of the flaws. The only thing I miss is the TV software. Going to download it and try now.
    ==============================
    This review was solely system specific and user specific, your opinion may vary,

    waiting for comments.
    ==============================

  40. #40
    Platinum Member puchu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paypalwishlist View Post
    44444444444444444444444444444444

    What is this ???????????

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Live™ Mail Desktop Beta: Another Microsoft Live application
    By India Broadband in forum Software News, Previews and Reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th November 2016, 05:02 PM
  2. Airtel DTH Review (Digital TV Review)
    By xwhyz in forum Airtel DTH
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 6th November 2011, 11:22 PM
  3. Top 5 countries to live in
    By meetdilip in forum News discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 16th January 2010, 01:45 PM
  4. Bsnl Live!
    By haija in forum Bsnl Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd November 2009, 11:49 PM
  5. Rssjam.com Goes Live
    By Admin in forum News from the Tech and IT World
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th July 2006, 02:27 AM