Page 1 of 8 12345678 Last
  1. #1
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7,863

    Default Reliance broadband review

    First of all I would like to say hello to all the members as its been a long time since I posted anything.
    Here is some good news for all of you who are having a hard time choosing an isp to go with so I came up with this wicked idea to get a connection each from every isp in my area here at my parents house in New Delhi and the first one I am going to check out is Reliance broadband.

    For all those who are looking for reviews about Reliance broadband This is THE thread to watch..

    I called up reliance broadband at this number 022-3033 7777 as this was the only number mentioned for broadband services on thier website.
    I made this call at 21:00 IST on the 27th of JAN and here is the rest of the story...

    Took about 40 seconds to get through to this girl who sounded very polite and had a very good customer focused attitude although I could spot that she was new at this job.
    I said to her that I would like to see if reliance provides thier broadband services in my area and she replied there are two types of services one wireless and the other is provided using cables and I said if she could let me know about both of them and she promptly replied that she only deals with the cable thinggy and I will have to call up another number if I want the wireless option so she started with asking my postal code and found that only prepaid services are available which is fair enough.
    She gave me a brief idea of all the prepaid packages they have one by one and I picked up the 300kbps connection which she said will cost me Rs40 a day which isint bad.
    There is a Rs500 installation charge as well she said and I agreed to take this package so she took down my address and name and all that stuff and said thier rep will visit my place within 72 hours time(which ends at 21:00 30th of Jan) and when enquired about how long would it take for me to get connected she said it will all be done within 7 days time (scary **** isint it?) and I asked the same question again and the answer was again exactly the same 7 DAYS.
    So guys a bit of waiting time to see if Reliance guys keep up to thier 72 hours promise and will see how it goes after that and how long they actually take to pull a cable into my house.

    This is not the only isp I am going to try,I am going to get a connection from each and every isp available in my area and also write about isp's which are not available and what they said about comming to my area.
    This first hand isp review will go on for a complete 6 months for each isp and if you are a blogger please be kind and link to this thread from your blog so every one can know whats going on
    Last edited by Admin; 29th January 2007 at 05:30 AM.

  2. #2
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7,863

    Default

    Hi guys who have been waiting to see if they turned up at my place or not..

    The good news is that Reliance is no different to any other Indian company who doesnt give two shits about its customers lol

    No one turned up here even after 72 hours went past ticking its way to create another unhappy applicant as I am sure there must be other who have been through this...

    I called up Reliance customer care again today to see whats going on and spoke to Usha at thier call centre who said she has farwarded the request again to thier sales department and they will get in touch with me asap...

    I didnt stop at this coz Reliance is one of my all time favourate stock on BSE
    I went a step furthur to give them a bit of a liverage may be this would help ... I sent the following message using thier contact us option from thier website :

    Hi,
    I am a webmaster and one of my sites www.indiabroadband.net is conducting a review on all the isp's in India and you guys being one of them I have applied for a connection with you guys aswell.Its been more then 72 hours since I made the first call and no sign of you representative yet,I called up your call centre again today to see whats going on and spoke to Usha who said she has farwarded the request again to the sales department.
    Here is the link to the Review page : http://www.indiabroadband.net/relian...nd-review.html

    PS: we rank No3 on google for 'reliance broadband' search Hope that rings some bells.

    Kind Regards
    Parminder Chahal
    Admin
    IndiaBroadband.net


    The No3 position I am talking about has just changed recently to no3 coz this site used to rank no1 for the last 3 months but me being a bit lazy lately the ranks have slipped but I am working on it again and we shall bring this page to no 1 for any one searching for reliance broadband on google so any one looking for a connection from them will read this review first and I am sure 50% of the people who read reviews like this one change thier minds if it comes from a reliable source which I think we are...

    Still hoping for the best and waiting for the sales rep from Reliance
    Last edited by Admin; 31st January 2007 at 09:45 AM.

  3. #3
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7,863

    Default

    Its been two months since reliance promised me a call back within 72 hours and a connection within 7 days and I am still waiting for thier phone call..

    I hate to say that reliance broadband is not something I would recomend to anyone looking for a new connection as they failed to get in touch with me even after repeated requests.

    I will give them a few more calls before I pull the plug on them.


    For those who dont know :This forum ranks No1 on google.com for search "reliance broadband" so reliance is not doing any good to themselves by ignoring me as a new customer.

  4. #4
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    73

    Default

    I am in the mood to bet today :-), so I will bet you will end up pulling the plug on them !!!!

    I am an existing Reliance Broadband user and though there are no problems in the service as such, everything else sucks.

    I applied based on a flier left in my postbox. I called the no. and a person came on the same day and I filled up the form and gave the cheque.
    That was the last promptness shown by Reliance till date After that I had to call atleast 25 times to different Reliance people to get the connection. Many times I was told someone would call back to me and let me know the status, but no such thing happened.
    Whole process time - roughly about a month.
    I am sure if I hadn't pursued, the connection would not have come.

    A friend of mine and my neighbor, who opted for Reliance connection about a month ago now are still awaiting a "call back" from Reliance !

    Their help desk is rubbish, their billing system is completely messed up. Every month I have to call them to send me the bill (which takes 3 days to come by email :-)) and 4 days by courier.

    There is no facility to view your bill on their website
    There is a create user facility, but that leads to nowhere!

    They are upgrading everybody to the 2Mbps plan (i am already on that plan) and they still are "working" out how much should be the upload speed !
    When I called customer care, they told me they dont know.

    I think Reliance is confused. They are not too sure if they want to be in the consumer broadband business and hence are not aggressively pushing the service. Therefore probably theres not too much focus and I guess accountability on how the whole broadband business is working.

    Of course this is no excuse for the current state of affairs. There are existing users after all and new ones being added albeit at a slow pace!!!!

    I have no idea why there is no concern in the organisation about their image/business losing face/credibility due to all this.

    Just thought I would add my 2 bits....

    cheers.

  5. #5
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Admin View Post
    Its been two months since reliance promised me a call back within 72 hours and a connection within 7 days and I am still waiting for thier phone call..

    I hate to say that reliance broadband is not something I would recomend to anyone looking for a new connection as they failed to get in touch with me even after repeated requests.

    I will give them a few more calls before I pull the plug on them.


    For those who dont know :This forum ranks No1 on google.com for search "reliance broadband" so reliance is not doing any good to themselves by ignoring me as a new customer.
    i think we both r on the same boat..........they told me reliance will come after around 15 days to my area but that 15 days have led to 2 months wait..........currently i m using hotwire direct ltd which i heard has been taken either by MTNL/BSNL and really want to give a try to reliance as airtel is not available in my area........

    BTW Admin where do u live??is it anyway near N.Delhi(Hansraj College)

  6. #6
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi guys,

    I have filled the form for reliance broadband connection yesterday(12-may-2007). From the talk in this house, I m not going to get it soon.
    But it is okay with me, as i just wanted to try Reliance for speed and connectivity for a month. That is why i have opted for the Rs.400/75kb unlim plan.
    I am already using the Rs.900/256kb unlim BSNL plan.

    The only thing i wanted to check was the upload speed from Reliance, as i m getting only 6-8 kb upload and about 30 kb download from BSNL.

    We do not have Airtel in our area yet, i called them like 10 months ago and they said they are about to come. lol

  7. #7
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default

    This thread is a very good concept and very useful.

    I am new to Chennai and wat to take a reliable and good broadband connection. Wish someone could help!

  8. #8
    mmm
    mmm is offline
    Bronze Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    286

    Default

    ^ Airtel and BSNL - these two can be considered as the
    reliable and good broadband internet providers in Chennai .

  9. #9
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7,863

    Default

    Sixth month going and still no response from reliance broadband.Hope this review is helping those three thousand odd people who viewed this thread and thousands more who will in future.

    If reliance wants to save thier ass after all this, Give me a fuckin connection for me to see what your services are like as I can only talk about the initial response or no response rather for the time being.

  10. #10
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    19

    Default

    It is quite wierd, I had emailed them asking for a connection and received a reply within 3 days. Connection not feasible!

Page 1 of 8 12345678 Last

Similar Threads

  1. Reliance broadband chennai review.
    By id_866 in forum Reliance Broadband
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th April 2013, 10:30 AM
  2. Reliance Wired Broadband: review & tips
    By Glass in forum Reliance Broadband
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: 2nd March 2011, 06:30 PM
  3. Reliance Netconnect Broadband+ video review!!
    By dakshi.me in forum Reliance Netconnect
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th June 2009, 02:06 PM
  4. Reliance wimax broadband review
    By prabu_k@yahoo.com in forum Reliance wimax
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th October 2008, 08:28 PM
  5. My friends review about reliance broadband..
    By username in forum Reliance Broadband
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th November 2006, 02:33 PM

Posting Permissions

Log in

Log in