Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 60 of 177
Like Tree16Likes

Tikona Review

  1. #1
    Platinum Member Preeti_20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    5,015

    Default Tikona Review

    Anyone who is living in Mumbai and is using Tikona broadband, can you please give your reviews on the performance, customer service and speed please. Because its a fairly new provider it would be good to get some feedback.

  2. #2
    mintoo
    Guest

    Default man

    well i m using tikona broadband named wibro, but i m not satisfied with its services. they people took a week in installation (at my home). their some distribution module is called A.P. is just 10 to 15 mtrs away from my pc, but i m not getting their committed speed, and it is disconnecting automatically after sometimes say half an hour to 3-4 hours. i complained them several times but they say that their engg. is on the way for me, but unfortunately he has not reached till my review(complaining from a week). I'LL STICK TO MY EXISTING AIRTEL. tikona is false commitments only. my rating for tikona is zero or one star(i m kind hearted)

  3. #3
    Platinum Member talktoanil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,204

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Preeti_20 View Post
    Anyone who is living in Mumbai and is using Tikona broadband, can you please give your reviews on the performance, customer service and speed please. Because its a fairly new provider it would be good to get some feedback.
    who will take that Risk ?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I bought Tikona Wi-Bro connection around 2 weeks ago.
    so far its working fine. No issues.
    They are offering their service at a very competitive price range.
    My earlier broadband service provider used to charge me at least 3 times more !!!

  5. #5
    Platinum Member talktoanil's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,204

    Default

    is connection stable and gives speeds as mentioned on plans ?

    what speed you get at day time and night time ?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Surfing speed is alrite.
    I am using 2 MBPS connection.

    I downloaded Itunes from Apple.com
    I got a speed of around 60-70 KB/s.

    Then I downloaded IE 8 from Microsoft website.
    Average speed was 150 KB/s. Occasionally it even went upto 200 KB/sec.

    As u must be knowing, the download speed as such depends on many factors like how much work load server is having, line speed at server's end, server's location, network congestion and so on.

    I have always observed very high downloading speed with Microsoft.com
    It is a very good site for testing ur broadband connection's performance.

  7. #7
    23eshan23
    Guest

    Exclamation billing problems

    The speed of net is OK. I am using Circuit breaker plan. They do lot of cheating in billing. They count more upload and duration than we usually use.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    can any one give its true speed for 2Mbps plan holders from speedtest.net with(no app using net another than website tab ) and its quality of router , service and customer care (if needed) ? my friend living in Pune wants to take connection from tikona available in thier area. so i needed ur help to make him choose right. He is willing Unlimted 1249Rs plan . And it is possible to use on 2 PCs / (1 PC +1 Laptop) by using our another router with wifi like Netgear / Belkin.... connected to router from them... ? Has anyone tried ? please post reply

  9. #9
    Blizking
    Guest

    Default

    I have the same question as 'andy_robinson' but i already own a netgear G router....do they provide an N router and can i use my present one as an access point as my house is pretty big and one N router is not sufficient...

    THX in adv..

  10. #10
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Thumbs up Tikona is good

    I am using tikona for over 3 months now. The speed is constantly 2MBPS even from speedtest.net
    Tikona has their own speedtest site speedtest.tikona.in which also gives good result. The only check is that You should have a tikona access point on your building or a nearby building for good signal. Ensure that all the lights on the modem are constant GREEN. especially the aerial and thumbs up LEDs.

    Amit


    Quote Originally Posted by andy_robinson View Post
    can any one give its true speed for 2Mbps plan holders from speedtest.net with(no app using net another than website tab ) and its quality of router , service and customer care (if needed) ? my friend living in Pune wants to take connection from tikona available in thier area. so i needed ur help to make him choose right. He is willing Unlimted 1249Rs plan . And it is possible to use on 2 PCs / (1 PC +1 Laptop) by using our another router with wifi like Netgear / Belkin.... connected to router from them... ? Has anyone tried ? please post reply

  11. #11
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default tikkona

    Can any one tell me tikona provide sevices in virar (west)

  12. #12
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default pathethic services

    My suggestion Pls dont go for their services....it's sucks if ur avid net user.

  13. #13
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default Pathetic service

    The Service is very Bad in Thane Region. I have taken this provider after doing some research on the Internet but I m fully frustrated with their Customer Support. Their Sales guy will tell you he is coming and make you wait for hours without even giving a call and if you call him he will switch off his cell. I am talking of Mr Nayak ( Sales Guy in Thane Region). Also in most region they dont have Access Point in Thane due to which the Wireless Service is not possible. This they will not tell you in advance before installin the connection. The Signal Strength needs to be atleast 30% for Wireless to work

  14. #14
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Thumbs down Customer service is pathatickkkkkk

    I had taken service on trial basis for a week.
    The service is so repellent that I decided to cancel the very next day.

    I was told by sales person that if I cancel within trial period I will not be charged of anything.
    But its more than a month now and I have not received there response.
    Inspite of frequent calls they are not willing to pickup there useless modem from my home.
    Also I got a bill to pay for a day use.

    Guys do not get into their bullshit service.

    Take care. If you have spare money and if you are looking for someone to screwup.. Tikona is the one for you.

  15. #15
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default placed for a demo

    So I called them today morning...

    The representative told I'll get a Demo by Tuesday.

    All things said I called in on Sat. morning I expect the person to come by Monday morning or even Sunday! Hey business is business.

    But anyway we'll see how it goes on Tuesday!

    Good thing I called from my cell to their toll free number at 10.40am...I was hooked to the representative in less than a minute so that's a plus.

    Things I wanna check when their demo comes....

    Ping times for gaming. = If this is sky high to hell with their service don't want it. TriBand MTNL offers decent lag free exp. I know it's wireless but still they're advertising it as 4G & gaming is possible in 3G itself so 4G should be a.ok IMO!

    Download speed in torrents & FTP sites & youtube speed.

    Their tariff plan seems shaky...they seriously need a night unlimited plan ala TriBand i.e they need to offer 2Mbps 10-10 unlimited & in the day with a limit of 2GB speeds of 300 kbps. All this for under 900.

    If they need to penetrate the market they need such a plan or I don't know why would anyone let go of TriBand!

    I mean I've had issues with TriBand but it's gotten fixed mostly within 2 [working] days maximum. I've had line bust up & what not...the MTNL guys know how to take care of the customer I must say!

    But it takes freaking ages to get a representative of MTNL online when u call them. That sucks big time.

    Line disconnections during rains are a thing of past...2 years now no problems in monsoon.

    Anyway forget TriBand will let y'all know how does it go with Tikona! I kinda fancy this name Tikona sounds like a secret treasure vault lol.

    Cyas
    Samir.

  16. #16
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default

    They just covered our Building today and have dropped brochures in everyone's house.

    Plans are not at all exciting and I see people experience is not encouraging here. Also, I have BSNL at my place so I don't need it :P

    I have also had a very bad experience with Tikona Customer Support. I called them thrice to schedule an appointment for a live demo and till date nobody has turned up. On top of that, one of their sales guy came to my house randomly as they have installed the access point in the building opposite to mine and told me that they cant offer demo and the guys in the call center are lying. There is no communication with people on the ground and the ones sitting in call center. I guess their marketing guys need to take a serious look at their strategy because it sucks big time..I hope they are listening.
    Last edited by Unregistered; 17th November 2009 at 12:55 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  17. #17
    Graham
    Guest

    Talking Speed test

    Hey, I am using Tikona from around 3 months I have the UL1249 Plan that is 600 Kbps which is unlimited But see the speed i am getting
    The speed is here ww w. speed test. net / result / 6 33224935.png Please remove the spaces

  18. #18
    Bronze Member taurius1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    So I called them today morning...


    Ping times for gaming. = If this is sky high to hell with their service don't want it. TriBand MTNL offers decent lag free exp. I know it's wireless but still they're advertising it as 4G & gaming is possible in 3G itself so 4G should be a.ok IMO!


    Any wireless provider will show increased ping rates. Even if you use a wifi router on your cable / wireline connection at home, you'll see increased ping, as well as frequent disconnections... A gamer never goes wireless.

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Hi

    I have emailed Tikona and there was no response from them. Can you tell me about its availability at Dahisar West. I was interested in 499 plan, which gives unlimited option. However, I want to confirm that is the download unlimited in that particlar option?

  20. #20
    Bronze Member taurius1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    141

    Default

    I live near Dahisar Bridge. I see tikona Wi-bro on 2 bars on my PC through my wi-fi card. Make of it what you will..

  21. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Hi

    Was surfing net to get reviews of Tikona, came acrossa review where it is said

    I was looking for a way to make my Tikona WiBro accessible on both my PC as well as my Laptop. As it happens, Tikona normally offers you a router/modem which will be connected to your PC via the usual Cat5 cable.
    This router in itself is a wireless one, meaning you don't have any hassles of
    wiring etc.

    But if you need to use this on a laptop, they ask you to go for a add-on

    TIKONA WI-BRO @ll_HOME/OFFICE SOLUTION (Add-On Pack)
    Item Rs.
    One Time Installation Charges - 300
    Usage Charges/Month - 50


    I didn't want to do that since I already had a Netgear router.
    When I called up their technical support, they said that it is
    "Impossible to use Netgear etc" and the only solution was to go for their
    Home/Office Solution Pack.

    As it turns out, they like every other ISP in India (Airtel,Tata,Sify)
    do not like to support any router other than their own, due to whatever reasons.


    is this true?

  22. #22
    Bronze Member taurius1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    141

    Default

    I, for one, don't know how they function.

    If they use a simple MAC binding to allow only the PC to function from their modem, there seems to be no reason why a simple MAC clone on the wifi router won't allow you to use the internet for multiple clients.

    Reliance Wi Max started off saying you can only use a single PC at a time. But that was only coz of they logged their internet sessions to the MAC of the ethernet port of the PC used to log in.


    Anyone using tikona wi-bro care to test it out for us, please?

  23. #23
    vasim inamdar
    Guest

    Angry Very bad Customer Care Service in Kalyan

    Im using tikona Wi-bro since last one month & not really happy with the network coverage. except the day of demo i never ever found sound network range in my house, if have to get connected then has to go to a specific corner of window,even some time for whole day no coverage of network. tried to contact representative never bother to come back to attend complaints,nor got any satisfactory explaination of the problem. if this is the way to satisfy customer then god knows how long tikona will servive in market.

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I took their 600kbps unlimited connection and they installed their equipment on my terrace. BIG MISTAKE.

    My issues
    ------------
    1. I am on the floor directly below the terrace and i hardly get a signal. How is it supposed to work if i am on the ground floor??

    2. I got an actual download speed of around 60 for a few minutes before the connection drops.

    3. Their dialer software is annoying to no end. The damn thing doesn't work well even after they "updated" it with the latest version.

    4. It doesn't work with my Apple Macbook. The lady repeatedly told me to click on "Control panel" even after i told her its not windows. I atleast expect customer support staff to know what an OS is even if they cant solve problems.

    5. They lie. They promised to solve all my problems but a week later, all their staff disappeared. Their mobile phone numbers no longer exist. All the customer service people say is "My engineer will visit you tomorrow". Tomorrow never comes.

    6. Their toll free number is almost useless and some of their staff know only Hindi. Now i'm from chennai and my hindi's not so bad. But this is not acceptable. Customer support staff need to know atleast some broken english.

    After a LONG wait of nearly a month (with 5 or 6 days of usage due to problems), i called them up and asked them to disconnect my connection. Nobody has turned up so far. So i disconnected the power supply to the equipment on the terrace. Power was being drawn from my flat. Looks like they really don't care for anything at all.

    Note: I'm not a newbie to ISP and router setups. I am currently running on my BSNL connection with a Broadband wifi router that i've setup. I know how these things work.

    Good luck to all those trying Tikona.

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default these people are delibretely cheating their customers

    these people are delibretely cheating their customers

  26. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mohit84 View Post
    Hi

    Was surfing net to get reviews of Tikona, came acrossa review where it is said

    I was looking for a way to make my Tikona WiBro accessible on both my PC as well as my Laptop. As it happens, Tikona normally offers you a router/modem which will be connected to your PC via the usual Cat5 cable.
    This router in itself is a wireless one, meaning you don't have any hassles of
    wiring etc.

    But if you need to use this on a laptop, they ask you to go for a add-on

    TIKONA WI-BRO @ll_HOME/OFFICE SOLUTION (Add-On Pack)
    Item Rs.
    One Time Installation Charges - 300
    Usage Charges/Month - 50


    I didn't want to do that since I already had a Netgear router.
    When I called up their technical support, they said that it is
    "Impossible to use Netgear etc" and the only solution was to go for their
    Home/Office Solution Pack.

    As it turns out, they like every other ISP in India (Airtel,Tata,Sify)
    do not like to support any router other than their own, due to whatever reasons.


    is this true?

    Called up Tikona and they said that a phone like instrument would be installed, which they call access point. Also, they mad clear that one can use as many computers as the total system would be wifi. However, the doubt I have is that if we install access point in our house than would it be a concern with respect to speed, disconnection.....Terrace installation is not possible...

  27. #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Use Tikona at your own RISK!!!!

    I have a 300kbps line which is for 599 per month unlimited usage (download and upload) , i have used their service for 1 month and have already become frustrated with it.
    First of all their customer service is utterly poor, i received a bill of 1300 on the second month which is more than double of my plan. When i inquired of this issue to their BPO their staff keeps me on hold for 15 minutes and after that tells me that they cannot locate my .pdf file bill copy. After buying and installing the connection i did not receive my login ID and Password for 2 weeks, even after multiple calls to their BPO
    Secondly their network is very shaky and unstable it goes off and come back on by itself.
    Guys Tikona may be a little cheaper than some of the ISP's but they have a long way to go to provide quality service.

  28. #28
    Bronze Member Jaganathsamal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Tikona WiBro Service is Miserable in Delhi ( East Delhi )......


    1. They Gave me My User ID & Password after 15 Days ( For my Unlimited 256 Kbps Connection ) , even After my Repeated Complaints.

    2. Their Network's Signal Strength is Really Weak & Therefore I Suppose I get Slow Internet Speed & Frequent Disconnections.

    3. They Charge More than Their Competitors in Delhi ( as Compared to Regular Airtel or MTNL Broadband Plans )

    I have Already Canceled my Connection & am Happy With my Airtel Broadband.
    There is only one Truth !!

  29. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Is it Dynamic IP and is port forwarding possible?

    How is the service in Bangalore and in which areas is it available?

  30. #30
    sandip21i
    Guest

    Default

    TIKONA MUMBAI


    True Download Speeds I experienced at South Mumbai

    Plan ---------------- Direct Download Speed------------ Torrent

    150 kbps ---------------- 12 - 20 kbps ------------ 10 - 18 kbps
    300 kbps ---------------- 25 - 40 kbps ------------ 20 - 30 kbps
    600 kbps ---------------- 50 - 98 kbps ------------ 50 - 75 kbps
    1 Mbps ---------------- 100 - 170 kbps ------------ 80 - 125 kbps
    2Mbps ---------------- 400 - 550 kbps ------------ 250 - 450 kbps

    2mbps Line is too good. I dont know how but it gives exceptionally good speed......

  31. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs up No issues with service

    I am using this service since 2 months now in thane....
    though staying on the 6th floor i had some issues with he signal for the first week of installatiion.
    Luckily i got a good connection after they installed their access point in a nearby Tower.
    since then i never had any issues regarding signal.
    Using the unlimited 600kbps plan @799
    Downloads arent steady but takes me to almost 65-70 kbps mostly on torrents

  32. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Angry Beware of Tikona thugs in Bangalore!!!

    Hi, Tikona service is very very extremely poor in Bangalore. I had taken Tikona 600kbps connection (Rs. 800 per month) on 1st January 2010 in my area(Bannerghatta Road). Just after the next day of connection installation, I started facing long long downtimes. Usually Internet just worked hardly for 3-4 hours a day, rest 20 hours of downtime!!!! No need to tell, this was quite quite frustrating for me, because my earlier net connection was fine and I had got tikona connection just because their attractive tariff plan. I called their customer care so many time, but found everybody doing just a lip service. No body turned up even after 15 days of reporting the issue, then finally I got the service terminated on 15 Jan 2010.
    After that I am quit a happy person, have got my older ISP connection restored, enjoying uninterrupted internet service but when ever I remember those 15 frustrating days, I mutely scold tikona and people at tikona 15 times.
    Hope my review will be eye opener for those who are giving a thought to purchase tikona's service.
    The matter fact is Their technology is not sustainable and equipments are not reliable as of now, tikona guys can not solve customer's problems even if they want to(though they dont want as well).
    Go for tikona if and only if you want to make your life bizarre and want to ruin your peace of mind with guaranty.

  33. #33
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    2

    Thumbs down Bad Service in Delhi

    Recently tikona launched their service in Delhi, seeing their attractive ads in the newspapers daily. I took their 300 Kbps (UL649 plan). But all i ended up was with about 90-110 Kbps and plus pathetic regular heavy down breaks ( Yesterday 6 hrs completely without connections)

    Its even hard to open webpages

    My tikona Username:1100440356


    I'll be switching back to Airtel broadband soon.

  34. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 23eshan23 View Post
    The speed of net is OK. I am using Circuit breaker plan. They do lot of cheating in billing. They count more upload and duration than we usually use.
    I am also on circuit breaker plan 599 and it is working fine yaar... What problem have u faced in bill? So i also come to know. My bill from last 4 months is perfect. I am CA and gud wid numbers. Pls let me know wats the problem wid bill...

  35. #35
    Bronze Member stick0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    140

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zapsterin View Post
    I am using this service since 2 months now in thane....
    though staying on the 6th floor i had some issues with he signal for the first week of installatiion.
    Luckily i got a good connection after they installed their access point in a nearby Tower.
    since then i never had any issues regarding signal.
    Using the unlimited 600kbps plan @799
    Downloads arent steady but takes me to almost 65-70 kbps mostly on torrents
    I'm also using 799 plan and like you said torrent speed is 60-70 kbps and its so far so good and the reason why i changed this from Airtel was Airtel had frequent disconnection problem which i've been complaining since 2008 and they couldn't solve it so i got tired and got Tikona.Like i said before so far so good with Tikona or am i leaving comments too early as it's been like only 4 days with Tikona.

  36. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by john View Post
    Recently tikona launched their service in Delhi, seeing their attractive ads in the newspapers daily. I took their 300 Kbps (UL649 plan). But all i ended up was with about 90-110 Kbps and plus pathetic regular heavy down breaks ( Yesterday 6 hrs completely without connections)

    Its even hard to open webpages

    My tikona Username:1100440356


    I'll be switching back to Airtel broadband soon.
    thats the problem, this is something most people are very unaware of.
    when an ISP advertises 300kbps that is a very unreal idealistic figure. you should actually expect 300/8 as the DL value and what you have actually got is very nice compared to that. so....

    however, i do agree that down breaks could be very irritating

  37. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rahul.maniac View Post
    thats the problem, this is something most people are very unaware of.
    when an ISP advertises 300kbps that is a very unreal idealistic figure. you should actually expect 300/8 as the DL value and what you have actually got is very nice compared to that. so....

    however, i do agree that down breaks could be very irritating
    expecting 300kbps is not very unrealistic.

  38. #38
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Tikona: a Disaster

    1) Speed Sucks in the 600 Kbps plan. Gives download speed of 30 Kbps all day

    2) I use wireless of all kinds of wireless connections with my laptop. Tikona could not connect my laptop to there wireless router. There Tech told me to format my laptop.. Crazy MF!!

    3) Took them 15 days to install it where as the sales executive told me that it would only take them few hours to get my laptop connected to internet!

    4) I asked them to disconnect the connection a week ago. No one has showed up yet.

    5) The Ethernet connection disconnected after every 30 minutes.

    For any one who is curious to know that in which part of the world I live, I put in Noida.

  39. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stick0 View Post
    I'm also using 799 plan and like you said torrent speed is 60-70 kbps and its so far so good and the reason why i changed this from Airtel was Airtel had frequent disconnection problem which i've been complaining since 2008 and they couldn't solve it so i got tired and got Tikona.Like i said before so far so good with Tikona or am i leaving comments too early as it's been like only 4 days with Tikona.
    I agree.. except torrents it gives a gud speed... Overall experience has been satifying...

  40. #40
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    15

    Thumbs down Pathetic Tikona Wibro experience

    I had taken Tikona 600 kBps (799 rs unlimited plan ) in Pune after their heavy advertising in near by area and their sale stall in my society . Here goes my review
    Tikona connection Day 1-10 : What a connection sir jee , used to get upto 200-250 kBps in the night ... very satisfied customer
    Day 15-30 : Left for home , room mates were staying cursing Tikona and me as they had placed their stupid CP at some other place so as to cover whole home and signal strength reduced drastically and so as the speed . One day got call from my room mate that google.co.in is not opening ( so u may understand what speed the connection must be offering )

    Day 30-45 : I was back from home . Restored the original C.P position and got the speed back to normal . The downloading speed went down to 60-70 kBps in the night. Was still satisfied as had heard that 600 kBps translates only to 600/8 =75 kBps only.

    Day 45-60 : Downtime begin to increase to 2-3 in 10 days . Connection began to go dead in the normal peak time (8-12 p.m) in the night . Getting fed up i called the customer care.The only solution they offered me was telling me clear my cache , browsing history and update my antivirus and fragment my hard disk and restart the system as according to them i was getting good signal strength .

    Day 62 : I have put the request for connection termination because most of the time it reminds of my school day's 1999's Dial up connection .And taking the connection of my old ISP Reliance broadband .

    Verdict : Go only for Tikona when their installation is free and CP signal strength is more than 60% at yur home (Mine CP strength was 32-49 Varying) and your old service provider may wave off your installation charges when u returns to them after being let down by tikona customer service , surfing speed at peak time and when you want to increase your patience level
    Last edited by zeck_23; 14th March 2010 at 11:36 AM. Reason: grammar and vocab

  41. #41
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zeck_23 View Post
    I had taken Tikona 600 kBps (799 rs unlimited plan ) in Pune after their heavy advertising in near by area and their sale stall in my society . Here goes my review
    Tikona connection Day 1-10 : What a connection sir jee , used to get upto 200-250 kBps in the night ... very satisfied customer
    Day 15-30 : Left for home , room mates were staying cursing Tikona and me as they had placed their stupid CP at some other place so as to cover whole home and signal strength reduced drastically and so as the speed . One day got call from my room mate that google.co.in is not opening ( so u may understand what speed the connection must be offering )

    Day 30-45 : I was back from home . Restored the original C.P position and got the speed back to normal . The downloading speed went down to 60-70 kBps in the night. Was still satisfied as had heard that 600 kBps translates only to 600/8 =75 kBps only.

    Day 45-60 : Downtime begin to increase to 2-3 in 10 days . Connection began to go dead in the normal peak time (8-12 p.m) in the night . Getting fed up i called the customer care.The only solution they offered me was telling me clear my cache , browsing history and update my antivirus and fragment my hard disk and restart the system as according to them i was getting good signal strength .

    Day 62 : I have put the request for connection termination because most of the time it reminds of my school day's 1999's Dial up connection .And taking the connection of my old ISP Reliance broadband .

    Verdict : Go only for Tikona when their installation is free and CP signal strength is more than 60% at yur home (Mine CP strength was 32-49 Varying) and your old service provider may wave off your installation charges when u returns to them after being let down by tikona customer service , surfing speed at peak time and when you want to increase your patience level
    Hey frnz... I have recently taken Tikona conection and a on UL1399 plan. I am enjoying unlimited downloads at 1 Mbps. Installation has been quick and the boyzzz have been helpful for making me understand the whole process. The call center boyzz are little problematic. They dont knw propar english.

    I face problam in understanding them but i dont find any problam wid the connection. ALL izzz well...

  42. #42
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Preeti_20 View Post
    Anyone who is living in Mumbai and is using Tikona broadband, can you please give your reviews on the performance, customer service and speed please. Because its a fairly new provider it would be good to get some feedback.
    BANGALORE TIKONA IS WORST ISP

    My Experience with Tikona is worst. BANGALORE

    I put a mail to them after getting connection see my mail


    HI,
    I had applied for Tikona Connection on 27th FEB 2010.

    I want this connection to be discontinued and want back my Rs 500 check back.

    From 27th FEB the problems from Tikona side i am facing is as follows

    I applied for the connection on 27th FEB 2010. The sales person called me many times and asked me to take a connection.
    As per the plan he offered me FUL599 plan and he assured me with this plan i will get 300kbps. Also he assured me that this will work on 1st MARCH.
    Then i provide him all the related documents required for the connection. But after getting all this he did not call me. I called him so many times
    Many times he did not pick up my phone. Then tuesday some technical people came and installed this connection. But they went back and did not bother
    to show me the speed. They told me u will get USER name and PASSWORD in the evening.

    Then again one more technical person came in the evening. But he told
    me the speed is very less. He tried to repair it but at last after 2 and 1/2 hour later he told me that i am not able to solve the problem. Then next day even nobody
    called to ask what is happening. Then i called with same sales person This time he told me to tell this problem to customer care. Then after calling so many times
    from my side one more technical person came. He tried to solve the problem. He told now its ok as the speed was coming not exactly up to the mark but ok.

    But still this connection is not working fine. I called to customer care on thursday they told they will send technical person. But that technical person came on saturday evening.
    He also tried but was not able to solve the problem.

    Again i called customer care for disconnecting this tikona internet connection.
    They told me to send a mail to customer care for getting back that Rs 500 back which they people got during installation.

    So now i want my money back and already i have raised the request for dicsonnection.

    See wht customer care people did after raising the request of disconnection.

    When i called to customer care one person told me that ur request for disconnection is in process. Only 4 days passed so with in 3 days connection will be discontinued and there is no billing to ur account and u will get installation charges back.

    Then again i called after 10 minutes to Technical people of customer care. One person told me that your request for disconnection is canceled by one of their department because they want to repair it. They did not even ask me wheather i want to cancel my disconnection request. Now the same person told me ok now i am raising a request to disconnect and it will take 7 days to disconnect.

    I don't know wht the hell these people are doing. I am personally suggesting to every one Don't take TIKONA connection. It will make u suffer a lot.

  43. #43
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    15

    Default Ram bharose

    Hi Sir ,
    It is really that connection provider where "Everything is left for God"

    Even after 1 month of my connection termination they have taken my CP and the bill still comes though they have assured me 3 times that i will not receive any bill after 2 days of placing the request .

  44. #44
    birender
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zeck_23 View Post
    Hi Sir ,
    It is really that connection provider where "Everything is left for God"

    Even after 1 month of my connection termination they have taken my CP and the bill still comes though they have assured me 3 times that i will not receive any bill after 2 days of placing the request .
    Tikona haaa it never works the technology they use it not good and subscribers face frequent disconnect problems... and some times they connectivity they use WDS system some time there ap stop communicating from their main base station so due to which subscribers donít have any IP assigned by their DHCP servers....

  45. #45
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1

    Angry Hi Am from Mumbai/ Kalyan.. and using Tikona Broadband

    I got this connection in november and Was happy with the speed... But now from last 2 weeks am not at all happy with the service from Tikona guys... The speed is very bad and sometimes there is no connectivity.. which really frustrates me... I suggest if yu wanna get this connection.. plz ask them for trail for atleast a week.. as it depends on the area where u live.... be carefull before you get the connection... Am planning to change it soon... KJ

  46. #46
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default tikona

    Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    I am using tikona for over 3 months now. The speed is constantly 2MBPS even from speedtest.net
    Tikona has their own speedtest site speedtest.tikona.in which also gives good result. The only check is that You should have a tikona access point on your building or a nearby building for good signal. Ensure that all the lights on the modem are constant GREEN. especially the aerial and thumbs up LEDs.

    Amit
    i am from delhi and using 1 mbps plan since 1 month ...most time speed come approx 200 kbps always its speed vary ...i will nog suggest for tikona after billin cycle i will quit to MTNL.

  47. #47
    Bronze Member Sonu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Abey quit to MTNL??

    Tera dimag kharab hai.

    Firstly you say You have 1 Mbps connection.

    Sir you DO NOT get speed of 200 KB/s on 1 Mbps connection. You get maximum 140 KB/s

    So if you got 200 KB/s You should be happy should you not?


    Secondly you talk about fluctuating speed...well what do you have? I say you opt for their nano-station mode connection instead of full wireless one.

    Thridly, If you think this connection has speed fluctuation, I just can't wait till you get MTNL connection...

    Then you come here & tell me what NIGHTMARE you face

  48. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs down Tikona

    Tikona isn't a good ISP. i hv plan of 600 per month in which they include speed of 300 K bits/s but still im getting speed of around 140 Kbits/s n is always fluctuating. The connection is always unstable n u will need to repair it again n again. packet data loss is too much. N im gonna quit this conection i ll advice u to take MTNL. My rating is for tikona is zero N dissatisfiesd.

  49. #49
    Bronze Member Sonu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Rushi I don't agree with you.

    Yes I've only got this connection for the past 4 hours now but I don't face any problems that you put forward.

    Yes I also have a plan of 600 kbps but my Speed is fluctuating in between 1.3 Mbps - 1.8 Mbps.

    Yes I haven't used my quota of 400 MB but I will finish it soon & get back here.

    I advise you go for NanoStation mode connection instead of wireless router one.

    Just make sure you get 2 indicator lights on the NanoStation & your good to go.

    It is disappointing in a way they advertise it as WiBro/ WiMAX but it isn't.

    It's more like a 3G GSM mode internet...the pings are sometimes scary...but a refresh fixes that ASAP.

    I will get back with my review again in a couple of days.

    Until then Fingers Crossed

  50. #50
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default Tikona - Review

    Sonu you are rite you are not agree wid me rite now.
    But soon you will agree wid me. as you have not finishd ur 400MB quota, you are gettin speed of 2Mb but soon u will start facing probs.
    And im already using Nano-station. Speed will always fluctuate and u ll face much problems so till den Enjoy ur speed...

  51. #51
    Bronze Member Sonu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Hey guys & Rushi, follow up.

    I must say I'm a little bit disappointed with this.

    My problems -

    1. 0 issues of speed or anything at night say after 10.30 pm. It works great.

    2. Issues arise from 1 pm. I'm on Rs.799, 600 kbps plan.

    The speed cuts off big time & sometimes there is no service whatsoever.

    But when the speeds goes to 2 Mbps which I get occasionally on Sundays for some strange reason.

    The connection is perfect but I got this at night itself as well so I can't vouch for it's decency at afternoon - evening.

    In short. I'll stick with them for 2 months. I'll get my plan changed to the 1 Mbps thingy.

    If in 1 Mbps I get same speed fluctuation/drop in the middle of the day.

    I'll disconnect them.

    I mean their service is good & all BUT if they fail like this then I can't stick to them.

    Their current speed system reminds me of MTNL 2 years ago. Same problems no speed in the middle of the day.

    Oh well they better up their game or it's back to my local cablewallah for secondary internet.

  52. #52
    Bronze Member Sonu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Ahh I constantly go on eating a Humble Pie! lol

    I wish my previous words would be true.

    Fact of the matter is this Yes Mr. Rushi you are correct Sir.

    This thing just flat-out sucks!!!

    Here's the test on

    Pingtest.net - The Global Broadband Quality Test

    Checked - Seoul , Los Angeles & Norway servers.

    Time -7.35 am

    My results are this -

    Seoul http://www.pingtest.net/result/16201060.png

    Los Angeles http://www.pingtest.net/result/16201105.png

    Norway http://www.pingtest.net/result/16201148.png


    Thats my test at 7.35 am in the morning!

    Afternoon, Evening it's the same Grade F. Packet loss goes as high as 29% at times! YIKES!!!

    The only time I got 0% packet loss was from Seoul server at 3 am in the morning. That too only 1 time! YAY! Go figure.

    Line quality goes Upto D maximum for Los Angeles, Seoul & Norway servers at night.

    Los Angeles it's a constant D at night for the past 3 days. Seoul/Norway are iffy...D or E sometimes even F at night for Seoul!

    All in all if your getting a good connection from these what to call them uff "insert abusive expletive" your plain lucky & I wouldn't count on it staying it that way.

    Rest as they say Tikona flat-out SUCKS!

    Tested at 12.45 am

    Here's the results

    Seoul server

    http://www.pingtest.net/result/16251232.png


    Los Angeles

    http://www.pingtest.net/result/16251329.png


    Bear in mind Packet loss shows 0% but it turned out to be 249/250. Never yet I've gotten a full score of 250/250.

    My point proves to be true they obviously don't have the bandwidth to supply & are over saturated.
    Last edited by Sonu; 6th May 2010 at 01:50 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  53. #53
    Bronze Member Sonu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Suprised here guys for the past 5-6 days I'm getting perfect speeds of 600 kbps.

    Line Quality is D now mostly.

    Packet loss it 0%-5% maximum on all servers over the world at pingtest.net

    They got their act right! Suprising!

    Let's hope they keep it this way....I might stick with them for a another month now after-all!

  54. #54
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Preeti_20 View Post
    Anyone who is living in Mumbai and is using Tikona broadband, can you please give your reviews on the performance, customer service and speed please. Because its a fairly new provider it would be good to get some feedback.
    I agree... tikona Broadband review is that its the worst Internet service provide in town lately. Cheap service. I have an A/c since 4 months now, but it not even worked for 1 month in a strech. Even 10days the network goes down for 4-5 days. It sucks... Cust care also does not respond as expected. everytime they say they wud send an engineer & will raise a complain & have it resolved, but in vain. Forget abt anyone calling in to follow-up, you have to call all the time to ask the status of the complaint every other day.... Not a good Choice

    All is not well for me dude... & for more than 75% Tikona users as per one of surveys i read on a website....
    Last edited by lakhaniarpan; 9th July 2010 at 11:36 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  55. #55
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Its not just 75%....its 90+% TIKONA users.

    They are losing the customers big time!!

  56. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Tikona SUXX

    I have Tikona WI BRO connection.

    Speed -> Pathetic (My 2001 DoT dial up was better than Tikona!!)
    Stability -> N.A. (Ping response to default gateway over a period of 2 hours, 61% loss!!!)
    Customer Service -> Horrible (After every call "You will get an SMS soon and engineer will reach your site asap" ... which never happens unless u know the engineer personally and u call him 10 times!)

    If you are thinking of getting a wireless BB, skip Tikona for sure!

  57. #57
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default warring for who want new Connection for Tikona Fusu Network...

    Tikona Worst Service ..

    they want only money & Mr. Nagesh & veer garg (New Delhi Nodal Officer) always sleeping.

    i am give -10 Point to Tikona see below

    1. Poor customer care (they dont know what is Problem?)
    2. Suck technical team (like a anphar)
    3. Worst Access Point ( 3 danday)
    4. 3rd class Ping (loss 30%)
    5. Speed like a malghari (7-13 kbps)
    6. Nodal Officer - Sleeping Beauty
    7. 4G Technology ..they have 4kbps
    8. Destination not found
    9. Wireless like a daba(Nano) ...
    10. They are not Internet Service Provider .they are KabariWalay.

    my experience very bad with Tikona. they connect my new connection on 31 July, 2010 and till know its giving me only 12 to 19 kbps and always RTO, Disconnect & Packet Loss Problem. i am 3 times Mail to Nodal Officer(veer garg & Nagesh. they don't want to work on my Problem. today is 29 August still they are not solve my problem.

    My Plan is Full599 - 512 kbps(New Delhi (west Delhi)).

    .tikona Company like a Kabariwalay ..



    warring for who want new Connection for Tikona Fusu Network...
    iL6>tushar likes this.

  58. #58
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I absolutely agree

    Tikona in Pune... I have the slow connection problem for the last 6 months now... I have been patient hoping that they will improve their connection, but they have not. I get an exteremely slow speed with their connection. Infact my BSNL dialup in 1999 used to work faster than my tikona 750KBPS

    I will never recommend Tikona to anyone...

  59. #59
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    tikona is the worst internet service provider in the world

    please dont get trapped by their advertisement or even you poeople will be foooled like me.

    half the time my net isnt working.

    when i call them the they same the same thing that your issue has been passed to the conceenred deaprtment but nothing happens.

    my plan is 2 mbps and till date not even one i have got that speeed just pathetic

    TIKONA is a full on display of cheating people , pathetic customer care, and an idiotic service.

    actually its much more .

    take this tikona _!_

  60. #60
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Horrible Service

    Hi,

    I have been on Tikona since Nov'2010. Never got speed on the same.

    I had been assured that no bill will be raised till the issue is sorted out but promptly get a bill with barely any service. Can someone advise what can be done?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th July 2013, 09:22 AM
  2. Tikona Broadband Review
    By alok5432 in forum Tikona WiBro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd August 2012, 02:52 PM
  3. Tikona Review
    By Romu_sood in forum Tikona WiBro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th March 2012, 04:22 PM
  4. Tikona WiFi Review
    By jaideepr81 in forum Tikona WiBro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th January 2012, 06:19 PM
  5. my Tikona Review
    By srikanth in forum Tikona WiBro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th December 2009, 05:06 AM