Results 1 to 8 of 8

Review of you telecom

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Review of you telecom

    Hi,
    I'm from Gulbai tekra area , Ahmadabad currently using
    Tata broadband. The new hurricane plans from You Broadband are looking really nice. Do they deliver what they promise?

    1) How is the service and the quality of you broadband in Ahmadabad ?
    2) Is there any frequent downtime?
    3) Is it worth switching from TATA broadband ?

    Thanks,
    sahil

  2. #2
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    8,500

    Default

    In my opinion if you are with a service provider and dont have any problems with them then its best to stick with same company unless there is a huge amount of saving involved.
    I have used Tata wimax and generally speaking their network is excellent and I never had any speed issues. The only problems I ever had was in the initial days when they launched their service but once those days with hicups went past there were no complaints that I remember of.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Smile

    Thanks for the reply.

    Actually I'm on a time based plan on Tata broadband (2Mbps-360 hours for 6 months with night unlimited for 650 a month) and would like to switch to an unlimited plan. But the unlimited plans in Tata are expensive compared to others.

    Currently tata is 1250 for 500 kbps unlimited per month.
    On the other hand You telecom is 1000 per month for 12 Mbps till 25 GB and 1Mbps afterwards.

    Even in worst case scenario with speed issues, paying 1000 every month for 1 Mbps unlimited is not a bad option at all. The only issue would be about the downtime.

    Regards,
    Sahil.

  4. #4
    LEARNER
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15,263

    Default

    If"
    YOU" gives you a RJ45 to connect to computer ( login to connect)and
    ( no modem/router supplied )
    THEN
    Confirm from CC ,whether you can use additional laptops in wifi mode/smartphones etc.( Now or in future )

    You may need an additional "standalone " wifi router
    ( example Netgear Wgr614V9)

    ELSE
    If service available in your town.Check BSNL tariffs
    http://www.bsnl.co.in/service/new_BB/BB_COMBO_Unlim.htm

    Feedback.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sahil2010 View Post
    Hi,
    I'm from Gulbai tekra area , Ahmadabad currently using
    Tata broadband. The new hurricane plans from You Broadband are looking really nice. Do they deliver what they promise?

    1) How is the service and the quality of you broadband in Ahmadabad ?
    2) Is there any frequent downtime?
    3) Is it worth switching from TATA broadband ?

    Thanks,
    sahil
    Hi Sahil,

    Any news on your YOU TELECOM connection?

    I am also curious about these 10 and 12 mbps plans...

    have you switched? and if you have, how is the experience?

    thanx
    Tejas

  6. #6
    LEARNER
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15,263

    Default

    Always check whether Multiple systems can be used Laptops/smartphones etc in wifi mode. ( now or in near future)

    A review:
    http://www.indiabroadband.net/cable-...r-no-wifi.html
    Last edited by essbebe; 12th November 2011 at 10:27 AM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    well, yea, you can connect the RJ45 from the modem to any wifi router which logs into the You Tele network over PPPoE and then it's upto your router to decide how many million devices it supports

    Still I'm waiting for someone's review on You Telecom's "super-highspeed" plans in Ahmedabad.

    What speed do you get? how are the ping timings? the DNS given by ISP works better then OpenDNS? etc..?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default you in ahmedabad

    i have you dhoom i mbps plan installed here in ahmedabad. i live in ld boys hostel and for the past three months had no problem. the guy came that same evening when i applied online and my connection was set on the 3rd day itself. i get around 100 kbps download speed(torrent) and seriously for 1102rs(this month price) it is much better than others which i have tried(tata,tikona,spidigo). since you is new here i think we will have good service here. also try taking i month plans only. if you take 3 month plan (or more) in any isp thay will give crappy service.... you may not pay for installation charges for a three month connection but i think one month plan will ensure that you will get better service (including customer care) that way .. feel free to ask me

    i live in ahmedabad and have their you dhoom 1 mbps plan.. it had been satisfactory for me with no problems till date
    Last edited by mrinal90; 28th November 2011 at 01:12 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Similar Threads

  1. Go green - you telecom
    By swats in forum YOU broadband
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29th January 2010, 01:54 PM
  2. FiveNet telecom
    By Admin in forum Direct to home, Satellite, Cable and iptv
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23rd December 2009, 04:51 PM
  3. Recruitment of Junior Telecom Officers(Telecom), Junior Telecom Officers(Civil)
    By totallyfandu in forum India Broadband and Telecom News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd February 2009, 11:08 AM
  4. You Telecom (FRAUDS)
    By Marissa in forum YOU broadband
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th December 2007, 09:58 PM