Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 60 of 61

Tata Indicom Photon+ Reviews!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default Tata Indicom Photon+ Reviews!

    I am a Tata customer and Im highly satisfied with their services, in terms of speed, connectivity as well as CC!:thumbup1:

    I recently came across a few great reviews about the latest Photon+ service of Tata. Wanted to see if other members agree, i might as well switch from my current plan to Photon

    I'm just posting a few of the reviews.
    ________________________________________

    Giz Guru Blog: Though this blog has just covered a few points of its survey, but till now Photon+ is in the lead here as well.

    Mouthshut:
    TataTeleservices (TTML) has announced its new High Speed Internet Access (HSIA)wireless solution called Photon+.

    The company claims that Photon+ is 20 times faster than the existing mobilewireless technology offering data rates up to 3.1 Mbps. This is compatible withboth laptops as well as desktops. Photon+ is accessible via both Routers andUSB Modems; this would cater to both business segment as well as consumers.

    It offers dual compatibility between HSIA and CDMA 1X coverage/mode.

    The best part in the Photon+ is that it offers easy ’self installation’ withLAN/WLAN connectivity and OS support for Windows 2000/XP/Vista and Mac OS X. Sothis is a plus point for all Mac users.

    I can’t write much about its connection and speed, but the company claims forfaster e-mail access and file transfers, slicker presentations, and betterexperience of audio and video streaming and so on.

    This is also available in Mumbai with a one-time installation charge of Rs.3500, while the tariff plan begins from Rs 299 to Rs. 1250.
    Mouthshut:
    This is a great product. Finallysomething that really makes a notable difference. I have been wondering whenIndia will catch up with the west as far as internet speeds were concerned. Nowbroadband has
    arrived but internet on the move was still a struggle.
    Most of the products out therehave been poor in terms of signals and coverage, except Tata Indicom. Howevernet speeds still left quite a bit to be desired.
    Photon+ not only has a stylishdongle but also quite a simple install. Running it also does not particularlyhave any kind of high system requirements. Activation was really a delightsince it was rather simple and ready to use. So far compatible with Windowsonly though.
    Speed of course is the main facetof this connection and given it is an HSIA (High Speed Internet Access).
    Another huge bonus is the Wi-finature of this revolutionary product. Now it connects not just via USB but alsowirelessly to devices sharing the internet.
    Overall a tremendous upgradefrom anything else in the market. This is definitely a category breaker, rathera category MAKER!!
    Mouthshut:
    I have been using mobile internetfor quite a while and have switched from PCMCA cards to mobiles and walkys tofinally usb dongles.
    Given that my requirement israther mobile across the several retail
    shops I run, I need to be connectedwith suppliers and clients alike.
    The greatest thing I found aboutthis device was that it gave me broadband speed internet for my store and madeeveryone else connect painlessly also.
    This has been quite a change fromthe more cumbersome internet options one has to apply. Also the tariff plansare quite reasonable for this quality of service.
    We picked Rs. 1500 for unlimiteddata download every month which I think is quite reasonable given the value weget for it. Unlimited data and that too wirelessly.
    The router was a slight hit 3500and activation at 1000.
    But again keeping in mind thereturn – ie HIGH SPEED and true mobility – I endorse it for sure.
    My personal recommendation ofthis product to all SME friends of mine who are considering powering someinternet in their premises and needing the option to have mobility and yet wifisharing for many users at the same time. Of course all this is NOT at the cost of speed
    Great Job Tata Indicom! Thanksfor the new service – it has really changed the way we work.
    Mouthshut:
    Finally the Tatalaunches Photon+ something that makes a difference. Most of these products havepoor signals and coverage, like the Reliance. The Tata Indicom is much betteryou get signal mostly everywhere,
    however net speeds is not quite preferred.
    The newPhoton+ has ‘self installation’with LAN/WLAN connectivity and OS support. This OS support is for Windows2000/XP/Vista and Mac OS X.
    ThePhoton+ is accessible using two devices — the Router and USB Modem. The routeris helpful for multiple users in small and medium businesses (SMB) and businessenterprises which is configured with an in-built modem and has Wi-Ficapabilities. The USB Modem that can be directly plugged into a computer, forindividual users.

    This service is available Bangalore, Chennai, Jaipur, Mumbai, Jammu &Kashmir & North East States.

    The USB Modem is available in Mumbai and the router is available at a one-timeactivation of Rs 1,000, while the tariff planbegins from Rs 299 to Rs. 1250.
    Orkut:
    Thanks for the person who created this community.... actually s day i searched for "tata indicom photon+" community...... i din get see community for photon+....... today i thought 2 create de community for photon+..... but 2 my surprise today i saw de separate community for "photon+".. I got purchased "photon+" last week.. and really i am surprised with de speed.......
    thanks for the community owner
    Orkut:
    Reliance data card is de worst ISP...... in my opinion.....actually before i had reliance.... and got terminated and purchased photon+..... its verrrrrrrrrrry gud dan reliance
    ________________________________________

    Post your reviews as well!

  2. #2
    Platinum Member panchabhut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    3,065

    Default

    The Photon service is presently limited to 3 cities only.
    Similar service from Reliance is available in 35 cities.
    http://www.indiabroadband.net/relian...tml#post139019

    TATA uses EVDO Rev.0 (uplink is limited to 144 kbps) whereas Reliance uses EVDO Rev.A (uplink upto 1.8 mbps)

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    33

    Default

    If u r existing Tata Photon Customer in Bangalore::



    Call up customer care and complaint that you’re not getting speed. Technician will come and he will Install firmware which will update Photon Hardware. After that it will show HSIA (High Speed Internet Access) signal meter instead of normal 1X. And it Shows Green LED instead of Yellow which was showing earlier. recently (From April 10) they r doing it in Bangalore.

    After doing this I am getting download speed of 1.06mb/s (In speednet.net test after 12 midnight - earlier it was like 0.29mb/s only). Its working fine now.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    1.06 MBPS thats too low for me !

    U mean u getting download speed of only 132 Kbps


    They told its upto 3.1 MBPS so i should be getting atlest 2.4 to 2.6 MBPS !! :angry:

    Well i got this net finally in Mumbai !!

    Enjoying speed of 260kbps + average

    From 10pm to 7am its free !

    Downloaded around 8gb ! :rockon:

    Well i was talking about 260 Kbps on Utorrent !

    But now i stoped downloading !

    WTF is Fair usage policy doing even at Night ??


    I though its only for Day time F**K TATA !

    When will they remove this Noob retard policy and screw my life!

    I am my fren's reliance net connect well even this one is not worth the price we pay

    Well I agree on that but they cheat on customers promising in big betters 3.1 mbps while in small fonts for which you need electron microscope to catch the lines in T&C they say as per locality blah blah and the original speed is like not even a mail takes 1-2 minutes to open

    The speed will totally depend on the infrastructure your ISP has in your area . Experiences vary drastically from one area to another . But generally as Evdo service is a CDMA tech Reliance have the upper hand in terms of coverage .

    As for speed well i am using reliance broadband+ and i can watch youtube videos in HQ with no loading times . happy
    Last edited by Admin; 8th September 2009 at 08:30 AM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    43

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by panchabhut View Post
    The Photon service is presently limited to 3 cities only.
    Similar service from Reliance is available in 35 cities.
    http://www.indiabroadband.net/relian...tml#post139019

    TATA uses EVDO Rev.0 (uplink is limited to 144 kbps) whereas Reliance uses EVDO Rev.A (uplink upto 1.8 mbps)
    NO Sir, the service is available in Hyderabad, Mumbai, Bangalore, Jaipur, Chennai, Jammu and Kashmir and the North East States! And I think its a good decision not to target too many cities with a new product. They have just entered the market, give them some time.

    And as far as Reliance is concerned, they are available in 35 cities but try checking out how many people are happy with their service!

    Quote Originally Posted by sudu846 View Post
    If u r existing Tata Photon Customer in Bangalore::



    Call up customer care and complaint that you’re not getting speed. Technician will come and he will Install firmware which will update Photon Hardware. After that it will show HSIA (High Speed Internet Access) signal meter instead of normal 1X. And it Shows Green LED instead of Yellow which was showing earlier. recently (From April 10) they r doing it in Bangalore.

    After doing this I am getting download speed of 1.06mb/s (In speednet.net test after 12 midnight - earlier it was like 0.29mb/s only). Its working fine now.
    Thanks for the valuable input, would help me in my analysis!

    Glad to see that they are making efforts to improve their service. Tata has always been considerate of user demands.

    Quote Originally Posted by nooty2007 View Post
    1.06 MBPS thats too low for me !

    U mean u getting download speed of only 132 Kbps


    They told its upto 3.1 MBPS so i should be getting atlest 2.4 to 2.6 MBPS !! :angry:
    Are you using the service? Where are you located?
    Last edited by Shobhit_Kumar; 15th April 2009 at 11:25 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by panchabhut View Post
    The Photon service is presently limited to 3 cities only.
    Similar service from Reliance is available in 35 cities.

    TATA uses EVDO Rev.0 (uplink is limited to 144 kbps) whereas Reliance uses EVDO Rev.A (uplink upto 1.8 mbps)
    Reliance EVDO sux!!! Please don't get mislead by their promises. I was fooled as well and now after using Photon i know what the difference is!

    Quote Originally Posted by sudu846 View Post
    If u r existing Tata Photon Customer in Bangalore::



    Call up customer care and complaint that you’re not getting speed. Technician will come and he will Install firmware which will update Photon Hardware. After that it will show HSIA (High Speed Internet Access) signal meter instead of normal 1X. And it Shows Green LED instead of Yellow which was showing earlier. recently (From April 10) they r doing it in Bangalore.

    After doing this I am getting download speed of 1.06mb/s (In speednet.net test after 12 midnight - earlier it was like 0.29mb/s only). Its working fine now.
    Oh wow! Thats a nice step by Tata. Luckily for me speeds at Mumabi are really good so I wont need this suggestion

    Quote Originally Posted by nooty2007 View Post
    1.06 MBPS thats too low for me !

    U mean u getting download speed of only 132 Kbps


    They told its upto 3.1 MBPS so i should be getting atlest 2.4 to 2.6 MBPS !! :angry:
    Buddy, the speed is super cool! Ive used it just once and Im already a fan of it will be getting one soon!!!
    Last edited by sahiltanwar; 15th April 2009 at 12:45 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sahiltanwar View Post
    Reliance EVDO sux!!! Please don't get mislead by their promises. I was fooled as well and now after using Photon i know what the difference is!



    Oh wow! Thats a nice step by Tata. Luckily for me speeds at Mumabi are really good so I wont need this suggestion



    Buddy, the speed is super cool! Ive used it just once and Im already a fan of it will be getting one soon!!!
    Horrible broadband providers

  8. #8
    ShAdOwCoN
    Guest

    Default

    I guess you people have been comparing reliance Netconnect with Photon :lol:

    Let me clarify that Reliance Netconnect is not an Evdo service ... its Reliance Netconnect Broadband+ which is Evdo

    The speeds will totally depend on your location

    But i have tested it in 2 different cities in South india

    1st tier city
    Chennai - i got 1.8mbps
    2nd tier city
    Coimbatore - 1.2mbps

    Both TATA and reliance are dependent on their mobile network coverage for availability and speeds .... thats the reason reliance is able to give a more wider coverage than TATA

    Quote Originally Posted by Shobhit_Kumar View Post
    And I think its a good decision not to target too many cities with a new product. They have just entered the market, give them some time.
    I hope you do realise that EVdo is NOT a new technology .Its a 3G/CDMA technology so it obviously uses mobile signal reception ..... only the modem is new here ......
    Reliance had a better mobile signal infrastructure than TATA that is the reason that TATA has not launched the service in many cities .They r not capable of doing that

    Quote Originally Posted by sahiltanwar View Post
    Reliance EVDO sux!!! Please don't get mislead by their promises. I was fooled as well and now after using Photon i know what the difference is!



    Oh wow! Thats a nice step by Tata. Luckily for me speeds at Mumabi are really good so I wont need this suggestion



    Buddy, the speed is super cool! Ive used it just once and Im already a fan of it will be getting one soon!!!
    Its very obvious that you have neither used TATA nor Reliance Evdo . Please do not leave reviews for the heck of it

    Quote Originally Posted by nooty2007 View Post
    Well i got this net finally in Mumbai !!

    Enjoying speed of 260kbps + average

    From 10pm to 7am its free !
    u must be having some fair usage policy limit between 10pm-7am ???

    260kbps ?? if you mean kilo bytes/second then its should be 260kBps

    260 kilo bits per second is barely broadband

    1) What is the advantage of using photon over the DSL broadband? it purports to have high speeds of around 1800 Kbps. Is this really true?
    Advantage = Mobility/Portability
    yes it gives high speeds

    1. Wireless broadbands tend to have a fixed speed ..... TATA Photon gives a fixed speed of 3.1 mbps ..... You can get it for any lesser or greater speeds

    2) What is the monthly tariff for unlimited plan for photon?
    2. Due to the implementation of Fair Usage Policy by private ISPs you will not get any unlimited plans .... All plans have a data cap/limit... BSNL Evdo is the only mobile Broadband with unlimited data plans

    If it possible to have router so that i can have both my desktop and my laptop as well as friends' laptops access the internet at the same time?
    3. You cannot use a router with the modem

    Quote Originally Posted by teelu View Post
    Hi freinds,
    I have heard that we cannot download torrent files using TATA photon + usb modem. Is that true?
    No

    That maybe said because there are no unlimited data plans

    Quote Originally Posted by patrapinak View Post
    I am in Dibrugarh.Assam.I use BSNL 750 Home unlimited Plus plan but here connection and speed is very erratic.I am thinking of Subscribing to Tata Indicom Photon+. From the postings here I am confused.I shall be oblged if someone tell me whether I should go for it.I am not a very tech savy person.
    you should check in your area .... speeds are excellent in some areas , while they are very low in some areas .... It will depend on TATA's infrastructure ..... Only people in your area can comment on the speeds in Diburgarh .... You can also contact the TATA guys and ask them for a demo in your house and check the speeds
    Last edited by Admin; 8th September 2009 at 08:28 AM.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nooty2007 View Post
    Well i was talking about 260 Kbps on Utorrent !

    But now i stoped downloading !

    WTF is Fair usage policy doing even at Night ??


    I though its only for Day time F**K TATA !

    When will they remove this Noob retard policy and screw my life!
    I hope you really mean 260 kbps and not 260 kBps because if that's the case you're probaby getting over 2 Mbps

    good one to be used as a network mobile .. since a good downloading speed which make us feel good.. dont look for another one da...

    I m getting 1.5Mbps here in Imphal unk: more than enough for me...

    I am getting a speed of 2100kb. Actually the speed increases as the usage increases. I got a maximum of 2100kb/sec. By the way, I stay in Hyderabad.

    Hello, I am thinking of switching to Photon. But i am not able to find all information from the Tata's site.

    I am looking for an unlimited plan with a speed of at least 512 Kbps

    1) What is the advantage of using photon over the DSL broadband? it purports to have high speeds of around 1800 Kbps. Is this really true?

    2) What is the monthly tariff for unlimited plan for photon?

    3) If it possible to have router so that i can have both my desktop and my laptop as well as friends' laptops access the internet at the same time?

    Hi freinds,
    I have heard that we cannot download torrent files using TATA photon + usb modem. Is that true?

    I am in Dibrugarh.Assam.I use BSNL 750 Home unlimited Plus plan but here connection and speed is very erratic.I am thinking of Subscribing to Tata Indicom Photon+. From the postings here I am confused.I shall be oblged if someone tell me whether I should go for it.I am not a very tech savy person.

    Thanks ShAdOwCoN

    Hi,

    I have a tata indicom photon+. (edited out by just4kix). I use 1100 rs plan with 10 GB free limit.

    And only after (downloading + uploading) 2GB (obviously that comes within 10 GB free limit) worth of data they charge me 5K rs extra from 1100 rs.

    There billing service is pathetic. And i would like to warn others before they buy it. I have already burnt my fingers.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by Admin; 8th September 2009 at 08:29 AM.

  10. #10
    Guardian Angel just4kix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,632

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mnnit.devesh View Post
    Hi,

    I have a tata indicom photon+. (edited out by just4kix). I use 1100 rs plan with 10 GB free limit.

    And only after (downloading + uploading) 2GB (obviously that comes within 10 GB free limit) worth of data they charge me 5K rs extra from 1100 rs.

    There billing service is pathetic. And i would like to warn others before they buy it. I have already burnt my fingers.

    Thanks.
    Never disclose personal details on forums and public places.
    *** Never argue with an idiot. ***

    All my useful articles and Guides | My DVDs | My Blu-Rays | My Blogs
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  11. #11
    Admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    8,500

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elmas128 View Post
    Hello, I am thinking of switching to Photon. But i am not able to find all information from the Tata's site.

    I am looking for an unlimited plan with a speed of at least 512 Kbps

    1) What is the advantage of using photon over the DSL broadband? it purports to have high speeds of around 1800 Kbps. Is this really true?

    2) What is the monthly tariff for unlimited plan for photon?

    3) If it possible to have router so that i can have both my desktop and my laptop as well as friends' laptops access the internet at the same time?
    I would suggest you go for reliance netconnect broadband plus instead of tata... and the reasons are too many for me to list them here again ... please do a quick search and see for yourself.

    No you cannot use a router but you can create a home network and use an ethernet cable to connect your laptop and desktop and can browse the net from both at the same time.

    Considering the price we pay for fixed broadband I guess reliance netconnect broadband plus is fairly priced given the fact that mobility comes at a price else where in the world as well.
    Last edited by Admin; 8th September 2009 at 08:32 AM.

  12. #12
    Vasundra
    Guest

    Default would like more info regarding FUP!

    the speed of downloading is quite good but the thrshold bothers me.

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Thumbs up

    Hey Sahil

    I have been using a Tata Photon+ connection now for the last 2 months & must say it has reduced my time on mails drammatically ( almost by 80/90% without any exaggerations.

    watching videso on Youtube is much faster with zero wait time. Now i really do know what i was missing by not having a Broadband connection earlier.

    Go ahead & log into the Tata Photon + experience....

    Hi Guys,

    Today I got my Photon+.

    It costs 2400/- for the device and 600+tax for 2 GB plan.

    I am from Kolkata and I purchased this of corporate special package.

    njoy.

    Device: 2400/-
    Plan: 600/- + tax

    The above price are under special package for corporate employee.

    if i have to rate tata photon+ out of 5 i'll rate it as 2.5. tata photon+ works fine during day and have .4 mbps to .9 mbps speed during surfing. the download speed(utorrent speed) varies from 80 kbps to 150 kbps. so all this sounds exciting but there is one big flaw. it has got disconnection problem. so many a times it will frustrate you after 8 pm as it gets disconnected very easily.
    so i m not totally satisfied with this device. customer care is ok. the other problem is the limited plans. it has got no unlimited plans and at avg speed of 100 kbps i easily end my download limit with 15 days still left every month.

    can anyone tell me what is the prize tata photon+

    plans details

    Quote Originally Posted by nooty2007 View Post
    Well i got this net finally in Mumbai !!

    Enjoying speed of 260kbps + average

    From 10pm to 7am its free !

    Downloaded around 8gb ! :rockon:
    You Said From 10pm to 7 am its free.. Are you sure?

    no its from 11 to 7

    tata indicom photon+ dont have unlimited plan! just like reliance guys
    Last edited by Admin; 8th September 2009 at 08:33 AM.

  14. #14
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default Tata indicom Photon+ in imphal

    Tata indicom Photon+ in imphal is horribly slow now. only 2kbps in real testing.

    Last edited by Admin; 16th November 2009 at 08:55 PM.

  15. #15
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default

    Just bought one yesterday through a corporate connection.. but i think the speed is horrible..less than 90kpbs surfing speed, download is 60 kbps when i call the call center they say i should not be expecting more than this... i know the the there is nothing that one can do.. expect closing the connection or living with it.. i feel frustrated that with such corporates with a model built on cheating the public.. i wonder if we will ever ever be a developed country..

    hey
    will u plz tell me that if there is some problem with billing if u r using night free plans
    i mean using night add on plan but still considered for night uses in bills.
    its important !!!!!!!!!!!
    plz Reply .
    dg

    Hi I am new to this forum . My Name is Chandra from Bangalore. Recently (1 month back) I purchased Photon+ . Frankly speaking i am not satisfied with the speed. After struggling with average speed of 100 KBPS I complained to Customer Care. They sent a guy to check out and he suggested to give a call to customer care to increase my acoount speed in their server (Unfortunately My vendor didnt told me about this....I dont know the reason behind this). After They solved my issue i am started getting 500-900 KBPS (Thats too for 1 or 2 days). Now again am getting 200,300 or 400 MBPS speed. I really fedup with the speed.
    It just feels like I am using Celeron Processor with 128 MB Ram and BSNL 64KBPS Dial UP connection(Feeling like I went 8-10 years back ).
    Can any body help me regard this if came across the same issue.
    Thanks and Regards
    Chandra

    photon plus billing really sucks....... guys ask the dealer about "pro data" usage. if you are buying photon +, i got 5000 rs billing inspite of my 15 gb plan.. just google photon + complaints, you can see lots of issues, the reason is they are not explaining the critical part of their billing system i.e "pro data" usage. and the usage details in my account (when u logged into tataindicom website) is showing wrongly..

    very very poor customer care and i have never seen such a one in my life.

    I have heard good about Photon+ and am eager to find more reviews.
    Reliance is the most unreliable.
    My experience with Reliance internet card is terrible.
    The USB malfunctioned within a year's time and when I requested the customer service department, there was no response for a week. The datacard support is pathetic. Even after two weeks of constant reminders to deactivate my internet card, the authorities were not bothered. Wake up Mr. Anil Ambani. Recruit some good quality staff, because if you pay peanuts you get monkeys
    Out of my experience, I would never buy any reliance product.
    Last edited by Admin; 16th November 2009 at 08:56 PM.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    81

    Default

    When you say corp plan... Tata Indicom or another Tata group company or totally different Corporate like a Wipro / IBM?
    Last edited by Admin; 16th November 2009 at 08:54 PM.

  17. #17
    Beck
    Guest

    Default

    HI

    I got BSNL EVDO unlimited data card for 550 per month in rental mode rs.200/month and I wanted to say that Im extremely happy with the service and speed.

  18. #18
    Unregistered
    Guest

    Default

    I would like to buy tata photon+ , which tariff plan u guyz suggest?

    What about the billing complaints?

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2

    Angry Tata indicom photon plus worst speed

    Hi All
    One month back I purchased TATA indicom photon plus.
    Every day I am getting speed from 130 to 300 kbps. The signal strengh is 98 to 100%. When we call to customer care they are asking us to delete temporary files and restart the pc and after that they are saying sir if it is happen next time please call us.

    I am staying hyderabad and on device it is showing as HSIS signal.

    Please dont go for this device

    Previously I used BSNL broad band 2 mbps speed. I always used to get 800kbps minimu.

    My final comment on this device is

    WORST WORST WORST WORST WORST ..............

  20. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    4

    Angry Very Low speed of Tata Photon +

    I was having Tata Photon +. I hv discontinued the services as the speed was in the range of 70-150kbps which is not acceptable in broadband.

    The problem is that if you are in low speed coverage area , you cannot get more than 256 kbps and the customer service executive will try to justify that the speed which I am getting is moderately high.

    They have no plans to upgrade the area for better speed.

    It is pathetic to talk to there customer support, thay hv standard answer for every thing. Nodal Office and appellate authority is of no support.

    Can any body let me know how to claim my money for the device back??

  21. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi All,

    I am new to this forum and need some help woth the Tata Photon+.

    As soon I et connected to the internet the Huawei access manager launches the browser automatically. I am looking at a way to disable it from automatically launching the browsers. Has anyone figured this out yet?

    Cheers.

  22. #22
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    369

    Default

    I was going to but tata photon + ...but at the last day before getting it just saw its Fair Usage Policy ...WTF 15GB only !! that is the worst ..

    I am happy with Airtel.

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Personally speaking, Tata Photo + offers blazing fast speeds. The only downside of the whole deal is that I will have to settle for horrendously prohibitive download caps. But then again, offering such high-speed browsing while on the move has to come at a price.

  24. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1

    Angry Tata photon plus support

    Quote Originally Posted by just4kix View Post
    Never disclose personal details on forums and public places.
    I raised a complaint on photon plus call centre on 18th FEB and am amazed with the kind of response I am getting from the 121 (Call centre) and Nodal team.

    I got a mail saying that the issue WILL BE RESOLVED by 19th Feb. But i didn't get a single call till the morning of 20th Feb. When i call up the nodal team on 20th hoping to escalate, i get a reponse that they have a SLA to follow and it says it shud be resolved by 21st Feb because they have to make sure all the network parameters are fine. Interesting to know about SLA without publishing it to end customer.

    Again, i don't get a single call till morning of 22nd well after so called SLA is breached. When i call up the nodal team on the morning of 22nd, i get a response that the date has been postponed to 23rd Feb and it is damn sure that it will be fixed by 23rd and the issue is because of inconsistency in my profile on their billing system and on switch. Supposedly, the profile is active on system but is payment barred on switch. So as i understand from the issue, all that needs to be done is to update the profile on the switch to make sure it is not payment barred.

    Finally, I got some good follow up on 23rd and a promise that this will be fixed by evening of 23rd. Now, when i call up the nodal team on 23rd evening, they are damn sure this will be resolved by 25th because they have to check all the network parameters and make sure everything is fine. Same old cycle. How many days do you need to check the network parameters?

    It has been 5 days since i raised this complaint and not a single call from any technical guy who is working on this issue. Each time it has to be me who calls up nodal team to get an update just to know that the date has again been postponed.

    Does it take 5 days to check the network parameters of one number???

    I have no trust in 121 or the nodal team. Please give me the next level of escalation who i can talk to if anyone has it.

    This is the worst service/support team i have ever come accross and really regret to choose Tata Photon +.

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default please suggest

    I am planning to get photon pro which is a wireline broadband by tata indicom, if somebody using it then plz tel me abt the speed, connectivity,etc.

  26. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default TATA Photon + - Bangalore , Marthahalli

    I f u r staying at marthahalli area in bangalore then do not buy this.

    The reasons behind this

    1. No signal for this area - company also knows this.
    2.Down load speed is 2-28 KB/s. Very very worst compared with any other service.
    3.If u complain about this , they will send some marketing guys to check the device and they will give response as "sir for marthahalli there is a prob with signal, we need to install boosters for this at your home".
    4.So problem now routed to network department, they will never resolve it and your complaint will close automatically.

    So my suggestion is do not buy a risk by buying this Photon+.

    So please do not beleive the add for this marthahalli area.

    Customer service is good but infrastructure is very worst for TATA PHOTON PLUS.

    Srinivas

  27. #27
    LaurenJadeTaylor
    Guest

    Default

    positive response of tata photon

  28. #28
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Dont go for photon plus

    photon plus worrks well in the cities....but when u go to smaller towns(mind u i am not talking abt villages) there is no connectivity at all forget abt 1x connectivity.......Reliance netconnect works everywhere where p+ doesnt work......I am from andhra pradesh and many of my friends are suffering from photon+ and guys with netconnect are enjoying........................................

  29. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default tata's mobile broadband service tata photon

    hi
    i am also a tata photon plus customer since last 2 months and i am really disturbed and disheartened by the pathetic service and billing system of tata photon plus.due to the success of tata docomo,i had applied for tata photon rs.750 min which has free usage of 3600 minutes because i thought that tata as a company was reliable.But it was not the case.the first bill came as a shock to me because i was billed rs 4500 rupees though i had not even utilised the 3600 mins which is free.i protested and lodged a complaint to the nodal officer but to no avail..my bill was finally reduced by rs2000 after i threatened to disconnect my connection which i reluctantly paid.i then upgraded to rs 1000 minimum plan of 7200 mins free usage.But the next bill came as another shock-rs 2500.for about 6000 mins of usage.come on ,i didn't even utilise the 7200mins of free usage .. i have been keepin track of my usage mins and i had usedfor roughly about 6000 mins and so my bill should have been rs 1000 plus taxes which should have been approx rs1300-1400.
    i'm sure there is a scam and i would like to lodge a complaint with the public grievences cell.
    the irony is that i'm posting this through an internet cafe because the internet speed is so slow that i cant even log in with my tata photon plus which has promised speeds of 3.1mbps....bull crap..
    i will be applying for disconnection of tata photon plus services today
    i probably will opt for airtel or reliance connection


    be warned ,before u even think of applying for a tata photon plus connection

  30. #30
    Sanjeev_man
    Guest

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by jule81 View Post
    hi
    i am also a tata photon plus customer since last 2 months and i am really disturbed and disheartened by the pathetic service and billing system of tata photon plus.due to the success of tata docomo,i had applied for tata photon rs.750 min which has free usage of 3600 minutes because i thought that tata as a company was reliable.But it was not the case.the first bill came as a shock to me because i was billed rs 4500 rupees though i had not even utilised the 3600 mins which is free.i protested and lodged a complaint to the nodal officer but to no avail..my bill was finally reduced by rs2000 after i threatened to disconnect my connection which i reluctantly paid.i then upgraded to rs 1000 minimum plan of 7200 mins free usage.But the next bill came as another shock-rs 2500.for about 6000 mins of usage.come on ,i didn't even utilise the 7200mins of free usage .. i have been keepin track of my usage mins and i had usedfor roughly about 6000 mins and so my bill should have been rs 1000 plus taxes which should have been approx rs1300-1400.
    i'm sure there is a scam and i would like to lodge a complaint with the public grievences cell.
    the irony is that i'm posting this through an internet cafe because the internet speed is so slow that i cant even log in with my tata photon plus which has promised speeds of 3.1mbps....bull crap..
    i will be applying for disconnection of tata photon plus services today
    i probably will opt for airtel or reliance connection


    be warned ,before u even think of applying for a tata photon plus connection
    Your review clearly states that the tata teleservices has a Billing issue
    They have crapiest billing system
    Thankyou for saving us from being getting into that Hell

  31. #31
    Platinum Member mickey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    6,948

    Default

    ^^BSNL EVDO is a better job maker.. Tata Photon does good, but people came across billing problems with them..
    job takes the child away.

  32. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I have had very bad experience with Tata Photon+. They have taken 3 weeks just to activate my account. I had to run frmo office to office to get my service activated.

    Finally, I visited TATA office in secunderabad which was just like a government office. The reseller salesman accompanied me. Unfortunately, the TATA guy treated the showroom guy like a external guy. With lot of struggle I got photon activated.

    The worst money sucker is tata photon. They have a monopoly and they treat like government offices. I don't recommend photon to anybody.

    Tata photon billing is horrible. One time I got huge bill than what was expected. When I went to the showroom he said it was for two months + taxes. I am very busy man so I trusted him and paid.

    Next month again I got a huge bill despite I hardly use the internet being a working professional. There is no bobody in my home who uses the internet.

    When I asked him to explain, he didn't reply and asked to file a compaint. It is my feeling their data meters measurement is wrong. Compare with your own data meter etc.

    One of my colleagues got a 4000+ bill which he struggled to pay as a fresher graduate and new employee. He than installed some data measurement software in his Ubuntu machine.

    when i started using photon+ the speed was good but now it is below expectations. I am aware of another guy who had speed issues.

    I don't recommand tata photon.
    Last edited by knuh; 11th June 2010 at 11:09 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  33. #33
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default They are big cheater

    I have purchased the TATA photon + 3 months back but could able to use hardly for 15 days. Most of the time my connection was barred though I had made advance payments. I have repeatedly called them, emailed them but nothing has happened ever So atlast I decided to disconnected the line.

    They have lots of problem in their system. They can not find my payment transaction. luckily I have made online payment. SO I have all the details. I have sent them the transaction ID screen Shots, even the transaction IDs from my creadit card bank. Then they told me to get down to the shop, I went there gave all the documents. They said it will be resolved but next month same thing happend again , I'm charged for which I have already made the payment. And every time you call them it will start from the begining.

    It not me alone I have heard similar kind of issue after wards from others also. I purchased it because of the TATA tag attached with it. But believe me there is no value in the that in this case. So before anybody decide to by this think of this points:

    1. The device you purchase rs. 2400 will be useless if you disconnect for any reason.

    2. The high speed internet connection will be available only in few areas.
    If you go out of that area it will be line dial up connection. (10 kbps Max)

    3. Charges are extremely high. You will not know where they are going to charge you. For eg. If you are connected for 10 min with a crappy connection speed in the daily internet usage it will be shown 600 mb traffic. I don't know how is that possible. (personal experience) if you call them they will say it shown in your usage so you must have used it no explanation.

    4. If you give a download go some where you are sure it won't be completed. becuse connection will break up with 100% gurantee in between.

    5. Billing and payment- I have already suffered so no need write any more.

    7. Speed will never reach the SLA 2 or 3 MBPS what ever they say even in the heart of the city.I have got max 150 kbps of download speed. Compare to the way they are charging its very less. Before take connection just try out.

    All these are my experiences, Sombody could get much better service. May be I'm the unlucky guy but think before you take it you could be also the unlucky one in that case your device ( rs. 2400) is a total loss like me.

    I don't recommand tata photon.

  34. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down Tata Photon Plus

    Dudes,
    I fell for the marketing gimmick by the TATA photon plus "I Carry Speed". Yeah right I carry 7 kb/s (Avg) in Mumbai !! (You heard me right) that too using Utorrents.

    Their Customer care sucks big time, its like experiencing the parody about the Indian BPOs.

    I have registered for Rs 3000 plan (Where you are promised modem plus 10 GB free for two months). There is never full network in my area.

    My suggestion try MTS, it's awesome and it definitely carries speed (3.1 Mbps).

  35. #35
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    17

    Default

    tata photon launched unlimited plans check it guys

  36. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    2

    Angry TATA Customer care service.

    I have recently purchased Tata Photon Plus USB data card. It claims to have the speed upto 3.1 mbps but the speed i am getting is only 20kbps. Its just frustrating and nothing else. The customer care of Tata, no need to say they do not pick the call up untill u get frustrated. every time i make a call to customer care, i have to wait at least 10 minutes.

    Do you think a customer have such a patience to wait for 10-20 minutes just to talk to a customer care.

    Talking to a customer care executive is not less than talking to a Prime Minister or President.

    Never go for it!!!

  37. #37
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    i agree with you, billing system is crap, and they give credit limit not according to your plan and they force you to pay before your bill even gets generated.

  38. #38
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default asssholes

    Tata and Relaince are frauds, i bought Tata Photon Plus and the salesman at the Surat Bhatar Road shop assured me that i will get 3.1 mbps if not then they will replace the device and give new one. It only gives 1 mbps and is **** costly the device itself costs 2.5k non refundable, now i want to break this piece of **** device but what a waste of 2.5k it would be. The customer service guy visited our office after complaint, he was so thankful that we did not bust his balls, he says that normally wherever he goes people yell and also beat him up. He was thankful that we spoke to him civilly. Basically he is hired to go to angry customers (all photon customers) and listen to them vent their anger. Then his job is to call his superior and put the angry customer on to phone to the superior who is tucked away in safety. The superior told us, like a ******* doucebag lawyer, quite simple that they have advertised the service as "UPTO" 3.1 mbps, and that it doesn't mean we will always get 3.1 mbps. That mothefucker, the tone in which he said this made me want to rip his throat out. But that's why they send poor thin people to listen to angry customers while they sit comfortable in their cabins. ******* bastards all Tata, Ratan Tata, Reliance, Ambani, they become billionaires by cheating people like this, this one example shows how they must be cheating and circumventing logical and ethical rules. The phone leaks by Radia just go to show how these fuckers bribe their way to higher profits at the cost of everyday Indians. They maintain such an air of dignity and build sky high mansions, in reality they are just a bunch of well dressed thugs who have no qualms about cheating people off their hard earned money. I hate Tata and i wish i had forgiven the bad service of BSNL when i went first to BSNL office to buy a USB internet device. Those idiots told us to come after lunch break and so we said **** this government ****, let's go buy Tata, even if more expensive at least we will be assured of good service and good internet speed. Look at teh service and look at the speed of the motherfucking tata bastards. ******* choots they are i don't have enough bad words to curse those assholes. Motherfucking Rata Tata bastard bhosdike, teri ma ki chut, bhenchod why do you cheat customers like this motherfucker, you should say it before we purchase that we will get 1mbps and not 3.1 mbps tmkc maadarchod bhosdike, you will die a bad death motehrfucker, clean up your acts you cheaters or the public will one day riot into your offices and lynch you.

    Karan Bhatia
    9820755747 / 0261 6555595 / karanjbhatia@gmail.com
    I dare you ******* customer service person of Tata, call me asshole, i will give you an earful, take my device back, give me back my 2.5k, money doesnt grow on trees you bastards, you cannot cheat people like this, chutiyas

    these bastards have 420 written in their toll free number itself, look how they mock 1800 420 8282

  39. #39
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default nothing solved, no speed improved, yet they deem matter resolved

    Without solving anything these assholes sent the below email, all they did was get some stupid exec to call and and get me to do some time timepass setting changes on the computer which resulted in no difference in the slow speed whatsoever, their device is not capable of giving speeds above 1.4 mbps yet they advertise 3.1 mbps, the truth is that they have oversubscrubed customers and it is not possible to give everyone 3.1 mbps, so it is like fitting 200 people in a train coach meant for 100 people, bloody assholes, i hate my country because nothing gets done to such cheat companies, i emailed the DoT guy and he simply pointed me to go to the DoT website, he is paid by Tata as Tata lists his email id on their Site, all chors, shameful

    Dear Mr. Karan Bhatia,

    Greetings from Tata Indicom!

    This is in reference to your complaint number 224818 regarding your Tata Indicom number 9227855796.This is a confirmation that your request has been resolved.

    We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you and promise to provide you with superior and eminent personalized service.

    For any assistance please feel free to call us at 121 our 24x7 Customer Care toll-free number from any Tata Indicom phone. We are also accessible from non Tata Indicom phones on 9227000121. You may also write to us at customercare.guj@tatatel.co.in

    (You being our Photon+ customer, can also get in touch with us on 1800-266-121 (Toll free). We shall be glad to be of assistance.)

    You can also get in touch with our Nodal Officer Mr. Nirlep Raval on 079-66558754 in case your complaint is not resolved in the stipulated time or you are not satisfied with the resolution provided.


    Thanks and Regards,
    Neha Jain
    Customer Care GUJARAT
    Tata Teleservices Limited
    Ph: 1726603510

  40. #40
    Silver Member ulysses's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    328

    Talking How to buy (How not to buy) Tata Photon Prepaid USB!

    Never Ever Buy anything Post paid.
    I have a Tata Indicom ADSL Pre Paid Broad band at home and I buy a 3 months pack every three months.
    I bought my Photon connection +modem at their secunderabad office. I went with my notebook computer to their show room and bought modem,connection,first recharge (Rs2399+200) etc and made sure it was working properly.
    Tata Photon coverage is only in big cities.(small town >enable>1xX speed- I have never tried even).
    In my limited 6 months experience I can say the reception (that too roaming all across south ) is reasonable for 2G. (sure expensive than BSNL EVDO)
    I get around 1 to 1.2 Mbps down load and 0.2 to 0.3 Mbps upload.
    I stay in heart of town in most places and signal strength is 92 to 99% to get above mentioned speeds.
    The only reason I bought at that time was Carry forwardabale balance. I recharge 10 GB (rs 1300 till last month and now Rs 1200 they say) and I recharge Rs 200/300mb to carry forward the unused for next 30 days.
    Sometimes network outing is there.but it comes back soon.
    Since I have invested Rs 2400 in their modem and roaming is effortless,Iam continuing with tata photon. Iam using Mobile Broadband for business not pleasure with thousands of $ at stake at the click of a mouse. So Iam sticking with the known devil instead of unknown !

    MTS modem is rs1000+ coverage is good in Tamilnadu. (no coverage in AP)

    Iam myself planning buying BSNL 3g sim with an appropriate unlocked 3G data card. (Huawei E1750/K4505).
    If you can figure out all problems with BSNL
    For 2g -BSNL EVDO is best in coverage (all Tier 2 towns) and price.

    Tata Photon even if works at it's best (read 1.2 Mbps) is expensive and limited coverage.
    But Tata Photon is not total bull ****.
    Other than BSNL all private Mobile broad band will cost Rs 600-700 just for 3 GB. Best value comes only if you are willing to spend Rs 1000/ re charge.

  41. #41
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    59

    Default

    Is Tata Photon Plus Service available in Kozhikode (Calicut),Kerala??

  42. #42
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default never for tata photon

    Review Of Tata Photon by customers (very True)

    1.Why do you say this plan as Unlimited Plan(Broadband) ?
    2.Why do you reduce the speed to 155kbps?
    3.If there is limit of 5GB then why it doesn't come under fair usage policy?
    4.If speed is reduced why do you charge 950,is it fair enough?

    why to use TATA photon unlimited plan
    MTS providing unlimited plan with 15 gb @ 3.1 Mbps after that unlimited @ 155kbps @ 999 Rs.

    A very diplomatic way of showing that you are offering unlimited plan at 155 kbps.. Well, if the speed it is at 155 kbps why do you call it Tata Photon Plus (i carry speed)??? It is then just like any other gprs connection.. It is not Tata Photon Plus.. Do you realize why have you introduced the concept of of Tata Phton Plus and why the "Plus". Remeber the symbol of plus is still "+" not "-". So, why is the speed reduced after 5GB?? Frankly speaking you are unable to provide the unlimited offer at 950 Rs. then why are you shouting at top of the voice..

    Review Of Tata Photon by customers (very True)

    1.Why do you say this plan as Unlimited Plan(Broadband) ?
    2.Why do you reduce the speed to 155kbps?
    3.If there is limit of 5GB then why it doesn't come under fair usage policy?
    4.If speed is reduced why do you charge 950,is it fair enough?

    why to use TATA photon unlimited plan
    MTS providing unlimited plan with 15 gb @ 3.1 Mbps after that unlimited @ 155kbps @ 999 Rs.

    A very diplomatic way of showing that you are offering unlimited plan at 155 kbps.. Well, if the speed it is at 155 kbps why do you call it Tata Photon Plus (i carry speed)??? It is then just like any other gprs connection.. It is not Tata Photon Plus.. Do you realize why have you introduced the concept of of Tata Phton Plus and why the "Plus". Remeber the symbol of plus is still "+" not "-". So, why is the speed reduced after 5GB?? Frankly speaking you are unable to provide the unlimited offer at 950 Rs. then why are you shouting at top of the voice..

    Quote Originally Posted by sahiltanwar View Post
    I am a Tata customer and Im highly satisfied with their services, in terms of speed, connectivity as well as CC!:thumbup1:

    I recently came across a few great reviews about the latest Photon+ service of Tata. Wanted to see if other members agree, i might as well switch from my current plan to Photon

    I'm just posting a few of the reviews.
    ________________________________________

    Giz Guru Blog: Though this blog has just covered a few points of its survey, but till now Photon+ is in the lead here as well.

    Mouthshut:


    Mouthshut:


    Mouthshut:


    Mouthshut:


    Orkut:


    Orkut:


    ________________________________________

    Post your reviews as well!
    Review Of Tata Photon by customers (very True)

    1.Why do you say this plan as Unlimited Plan(Broadband) ?
    2.Why do you reduce the speed to 155kbps?
    3.If there is limit of 5GB then why it doesn't come under fair usage policy?
    4.If speed is reduced why do you charge 950,is it fair enough?

    why to use TATA photon unlimited plan
    MTS providing unlimited plan with 15 gb @ 3.1 Mbps after that unlimited @ 155kbps @ 999 Rs.

    A very diplomatic way of showing that you are offering unlimited plan at 155 kbps.. Well, if the speed it is at 155 kbps why do you call it Tata Photon Plus (i carry speed)??? It is then just like any other gprs connection.. It is not Tata Photon Plus.. Do you realize why have you introduced the concept of of Tata Phton Plus and why the "Plus". Remeber the symbol of plus is still "+" not "-". So, why is the speed reduced after 5GB?? Frankly speaking you are unable to provide the unlimited offer at 950 Rs. then why are you shouting at top of the voice..
    Last edited by buniel; 28th April 2011 at 04:45 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  43. #43
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Really bad experience and customer service from TATA Photon

    When I got the connection with my Acer and when I received the welcome call, I was informed that I will be getting 5GB free for my first month and then after I will be getting 6GB on high speed for next 5 months, I did receive the 6 GB in 2nd month but in the thrd month My speed was lowered after 5 GB only, I called up on 11th Oct 11 evening at about 8 PM, talked to Nirmal Raj, we was very agressive and said it is not possible, asked him to get me his supervisor, he denied 2-3 times asked him I will hold, he got Vinay on the phone who was a team leader, even he was not ready to help, Asked for his supervisor and got Ketan Padhya on line, he raised a complaint (no. 282965319) and promised a call back by 14 th evening, I did not receive any call, I called at 9PM and Dilip Hirmal picked the phone he said there was a callback done, I told him I did not receive any call and if they have mentioned they called up then they are lying. Asked for his supervisor, he again denied the same, Told him I will wait, after about 2-3 mins he got Gagan Deep Singh, he did not even understood the problem correctly and said it is not possible and said when the callback team called they heard beeps. Asked for his supervisor, he said there is no one in the office senior to him. Adivsed I will hold, he said it will not help, I asked how is it possible that there is no senior person in the office and asked if Tata cannot meet its comitment then it is better to get it disconnected, he went ahead and raised a request for Disconnection, I asked him I want to speak to his Manager now even if you have to get him in the office he said it is not possibe, I said I will hold overnight if I have to and I am still on hold for about last 20-25 mins. I am really sorry to see a company like Tata to treat its costomers like this and it is no surprise if the higher management leaves office without any accountability.

  44. #44
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pawanksharma View Post
    When I got the connection with my Acer and when I received the welcome call, I was informed that I will be getting 5GB free for my first month and then after I will be getting 6GB on high speed for next 5 months, I did receive the 6 GB in 2nd month but in the thrd month My speed was lowered after 5 GB only, I called up on 11th Oct 11 evening at about 8 PM, talked to Nirmal Raj, we was very agressive and said it is not possible, asked him to get me his supervisor, he denied 2-3 times asked him I will hold, he got Vinay on the phone who was a team leader, even he was not ready to help, Asked for his supervisor and got Ketan Padhya on line, he raised a complaint (no. 282965319) and promised a call back by 14 th evening, I did not receive any call, I called at 9PM and Dilip Hirmal picked the phone he said there was a callback done, I told him I did not receive any call and if they have mentioned they called up then they are lying. Asked for his supervisor, he again denied the same, Told him I will wait, after about 2-3 mins he got Gagan Deep Singh, he did not even understood the problem correctly and said it is not possible and said when the callback team called they heard beeps. Asked for his supervisor, he said there is no one in the office senior to him. Adivsed I will hold, he said it will not help, I asked how is it possible that there is no senior person in the office and asked if Tata cannot meet its comitment then it is better to get it disconnected, he went ahead and raised a request for Disconnection, I asked him I want to speak to his Manager now even if you have to get him in the office he said it is not possibe, I said I will hold overnight if I have to and I am still on hold for about last 20-25 mins. I am really sorry to see a company like Tata to treat its costomers like this and it is no surprise if the higher management leaves office without any accountability.

    Dear Mr. Pawan,

    Greetings from Tata Indicom!

    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We would like to inform that, your complaint vide docket number 282965319 has been put before the concerned department. We have accorded it top priority and are expressly working towards resolving it at the earliest. We should revert to you shortly, request you to kindly bear with us in the interim.

    We assure you that we are committed to resolving the issue to your satisfaction.

    Should you require any further assistance please mail us at Customer.care@tatatel.co.in or you can call us on 040-66570232.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Customer Care,
    Tata Indicom.

  45. #45
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Get slow speed, Go to Sleep

    I was impressed by tata photon+ campaign that said "Get Speed Get time". But what I got was very very slow speed, which forced me to literally go to sleep while waiting for pages to load up.

    I took the connection a little over a month back. the speed was close to 1Mbs during Demo, but as soon as I bought the photon+ within few days speed was miserably down. Now I get only below 100 kbps speed.

    I thought it might be temporary issue but it didn't get resolved. Till date i have made 12 calls to customer care, 5 emails including 3 to tata indicom karnataka nodal officer, but no resolution.

    They are citing as some network issue which will take 2-3 months to get resolved. Customer service is pathetic since none of the executive are in position to help out. Have asked several times to get call back from supervisor, but nobody calls. Emails are not responded for days altogether.

    I repent giving away my BSNL connection for my Tata Photon+. I pay more money, I can only use it for one machine and then i get speed of 64kpbs to 120 kbps.

    Writing to customer care or calling the toll free has proved complete waste of time. The above note about not receiving call back is so very true. In my case, it was their in the status even after 5 days that they need to give a call back.

    Its Irony that the same company called me at least 15 times to welcome me when I bought Tata Photon. I did not want to receive that many calls then. Now when I want to hear back, nobody is calling back.
    Last edited by santoshkevlani; 19th October 2011 at 02:39 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  46. #46
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pawanksharma View Post
    When I got the connection with my Acer and when I received the welcome call, I was informed that I will be getting 5GB free for my first month and then after I will be getting 6GB on high speed for next 5 months, I did receive the 6 GB in 2nd month but in the thrd month My speed was lowered after 5 GB only, I called up on 11th Oct 11 evening at about 8 PM, talked to Nirmal Raj, we was very agressive and said it is not possible, asked him to get me his supervisor, he denied 2-3 times asked him I will hold, he got Vinay on the phone who was a team leader, even he was not ready to help, Asked for his supervisor and got Ketan Padhya on line, he raised a complaint (no. 282965319) and promised a call back by 14 th evening, I did not receive any call, I called at 9PM and Dilip Hirmal picked the phone he said there was a callback done, I told him I did not receive any call and if they have mentioned they called up then they are lying. Asked for his supervisor, he again denied the same, Told him I will wait, after about 2-3 mins he got Gagan Deep Singh, he did not even understood the problem correctly and said it is not possible and said when the callback team called they heard beeps. Asked for his supervisor, he said there is no one in the office senior to him. Adivsed I will hold, he said it will not help, I asked how is it possible that there is no senior person in the office and asked if Tata cannot meet its comitment then it is better to get it disconnected, he went ahead and raised a request for Disconnection, I asked him I want to speak to his Manager now even if you have to get him in the office he said it is not possibe, I said I will hold overnight if I have to and I am still on hold for about last 20-25 mins. I am really sorry to see a company like Tata to treat its costomers like this and it is no surprise if the higher management leaves office without any accountability.
    Dear Mr. Pawan,

    Greetings from Tata Docomo!

    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We would like to inform you that, our concerned team tried to contact you on the given alternate number 9717676761 but unable to establish the contact. Hence, we request you to kindly provide us your other alternate number, which will assist us in doing the needful.

    Should you require any further assistance please mail us at Customer.care@tatatel.co.in or you can call us on 040-66570232.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Customer Care,
    Tata Docomo.

    Quote Originally Posted by santoshkevlani View Post
    I was impressed by tata photon+ campaign that said "Get Speed Get time". But what I got was very very slow speed, which forced me to literally go to sleep while waiting for pages to load up.

    I took the connection a little over a month back. the speed was close to 1Mbs during Demo, but as soon as I bought the photon+ within few days speed was miserably down. Now I get only below 100 kbps speed.

    I thought it might be temporary issue but it didn't get resolved. Till date i have made 12 calls to customer care, 5 emails including 3 to tata indicom karnataka nodal officer, but no resolution.

    They are citing as some network issue which will take 2-3 months to get resolved. Customer service is pathetic since none of the executive are in position to help out. Have asked several times to get call back from supervisor, but nobody calls. Emails are not responded for days altogether.

    I repent giving away my BSNL connection for my Tata Photon+. I pay more money, I can only use it for one machine and then i get speed of 64kpbs to 120 kbps.

    Writing to customer care or calling the toll free has proved complete waste of time. The above note about not receiving call back is so very true. In my case, it was their in the status even after 5 days that they need to give a call back.

    Its Irony that the same company called me at least 15 times to welcome me when I bought Tata Photon. I did not want to receive that many calls then. Now when I want to hear back, nobody is calling back.


    Dear Mr. Santosh,

    Greetings from Tata Docomo!

    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We request you to kindly provide us your Tata Photon connection details, e-mail id or your alternate contact number, which will assist us in doing the needful.

    We assure you that we are committed to resolving the issue to your satisfaction.

    Should you require any further assistance please mail us at Customer.care@tatatel.co.in or you can call us on 040-66570232.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Customer Care,
    Tata Docomo.
    Last edited by Tata Indicom; 20th October 2011 at 05:58 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  47. #47
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by sahiltanwar View Post
    I am a Tata customer and Im highly satisfied with their services, in terms of speed, connectivity as well as CC!:thumbup1:

    I recently came across a few great reviews about the latest Photon+ service of Tata. Wanted to see if other members agree, i might as well switch from my current plan to Photon

    I'm just posting a few of the reviews.
    ________________________________________

    Giz Guru Blog: Though this blog has just covered a few points of its survey, but till now Photon+ is in the lead here as well.

    Mouthshut:


    Mouthshut:


    Mouthshut:


    Mouthshut:


    Orkut:


    Orkut:


    ________________________________________

    Post your reviews as well!
    Horrible option selected by me amongst so many broadband connections. The customer care and the technical support is so very lifeless because of which I am suffering without internet at home from 3-4 months.
    I would like to discourage everyone from selecting Tata Photon.

    //Moderator note:
    Welcome to India Broadband Forum.

    Probably, you have not activated your account and hence your posts are going into moderation queue. Please click on the link in the mail you received from the forum admin in your mailbox. Failure to do so will cause all your posts go into moderation.
    - just4kix
    Last edited by just4kix; 24th October 2011 at 11:54 PM.

  48. #48
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default

    First of all let me clear one fact that this Technology is not capable of 3.1 MBPS. Reliance is the culprit for this fake fact. Photon+ was released almost 0 days before reliance netconnect and all the Tata Photon hoardings said speed upto 2.4 MBPS. I purchased on the 5th day the unlimited plan hen TRAI didnt make FUP(Fair Usage Policy) and FUP is applicable for the existing customers. I simple get fixed bill of Rs1655 after the tax and i usually download 100 GB of data every month. My closest tower is at the main headquarter of TATA Teleservices. When reliance came up with the same technology, they claimed 3.1 MBPS hence all the hoarding of Photon+ saying 2.4 was changed 3.1. On the the day, TRAI introduced the FUP. Its not in the hand of service providers to provide unlimited connection without FUP as per the TRAI Policy. During peaktime i get minimum speed around 1 MPS and during non peaktime i get speed 2 MPS daily. Using USB dongle supported wi fi pocket modem, i connect 3 devices at the time and my connection never drops. I do have the advantage of the headquarter tower which is hardly 200 mts from my house. My wifi modem and Laptop are 24/7 on and my torrent speed goes upto 275. Also note that its not the only the bandwidth which is imp for an ISP...Ping results are equally important...Microsoft itself eats up little Bandwidth. On my Honeycomb 3.2 tablet PC, i have even achieved 2.4 MBPS. Tata Photon is mainly targeting metro cities and their coverage is poor in non metros....Virus/Spywares and pirated OS also play an important role in reducing the speed. MTS also work wonderfully in Bangalore.

  49. #49
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Yes, this is true, I also faced this problem with tata photon plus. My bill got 4209

    Yes, this is true, I also faced this problem with tata photon plus. My bill got 4209, but when I asked about the item mised bills, that also not providing for that. And they are dealing with rowdies if we are not paying the bills, this is too much. Please guys do not go with TATA PHOTON PLUS.


    Quote Originally Posted by jule81 View Post
    hi
    i am also a tata photon plus customer since last 2 months and i am really disturbed and disheartened by the pathetic service and billing system of tata photon plus.due to the success of tata docomo,i had applied for tata photon rs.750 min which has free usage of 3600 minutes because i thought that tata as a company was reliable.But it was not the case.the first bill came as a shock to me because i was billed rs 4500 rupees though i had not even utilised the 3600 mins which is free.i protested and lodged a complaint to the nodal officer but to no avail..my bill was finally reduced by rs2000 after i threatened to disconnect my connection which i reluctantly paid.i then upgraded to rs 1000 minimum plan of 7200 mins free usage.But the next bill came as another shock-rs 2500.for about 6000 mins of usage.come on ,i didn't even utilise the 7200mins of free usage .. i have been keepin track of my usage mins and i had usedfor roughly about 6000 mins and so my bill should have been rs 1000 plus taxes which should have been approx rs1300-1400.
    i'm sure there is a scam and i would like to lodge a complaint with the public grievences cell.
    the irony is that i'm posting this through an internet cafe because the internet speed is so slow that i cant even log in with my tata photon plus which has promised speeds of 3.1mbps....bull crap..
    i will be applying for disconnection of tata photon plus services today
    i probably will opt for airtel or reliance connection


    be warned ,before u even think of applying for a tata photon plus connection

  50. #50
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Do not take TATA PHOTON PLUS

    I have purchased 7 months back, my plan in 750 rs p.M. I paid 6 months with regular cost750 + 28 (tax) after that in the next month I go with vacation I have not used it for one month for that month bills goes to 2512 rs, I was shocked and called the customer care to send the item mised bills but still i have not received it. then in the next month consolidated amount goes to 4209 rs. I have called customer care but no use. If we are not paying they are dealing with rowdies to get the amount. This is true incident happened in chennai.

    pplease please please do not buy TATA PHOTON PLUS

  51. #51
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Thumbs down not better than a dial up connection

    Photon plus is not better than a dial up connection. dont go for it

  52. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    very bad speed, customer care (promise to solve problem in 24 hrs but they will not resolve the problem till the time you will not throw away your device). Promise to give around 3.1 MBPS while they will never tell before purchasing the avg speed is 256 to 612(approx) speed. Even i never get the avg speed it always 50-60 kbps. ;(

    Tata is always pathetic i will think about 100 times before going for any of its products !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  53. #53
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    125

    Default

    i was going to buy Tata Photon + but one of my friends warned me that their free data scheme is actually meaningless because at most places reception is so poor that speed is not worth...

    Tata must not waste public money.

  54. #54
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation Speed going down slowly steadily

    I am using photon + for about a year and a half but problems are starting to annoy me. This past three-four months the speed is coming down down and down. Here in Rohini Sector-3 I use to get 20-25 kbps after high speed download cap for unlimited usage, slowly it came down to 15-18 then now I am getting Whiz speed for Chrissake 5-10 kbps, gmail won't open, websites would take around 3-4 minutes, its too irritating. I complained they say its normal after high speed downloading cap, ITS NOT. I mean its not even usable normally. What to do I don't know ? I can ebb away by with 15-18 kbps its okay but 5-10 kbps suddenly !? Unacceptable !!! And again I can't create an account in its website it says already registered. When did I register without my own knowledge ? Its just wasting my time too much, watching for this month if it does not improve and complains are just brushed off I can only look for other connection.

  55. #55
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KS Naresh View Post
    I am using photon + for about a year and a half but problems are starting to annoy me. This past three-four months the speed is coming down down and down. Here in Rohini Sector-3 I use to get 20-25 kbps after high speed download cap for unlimited usage, slowly it came down to 15-18 then now I am getting Whiz speed for Chrissake 5-10 kbps, gmail won't open, websites would take around 3-4 minutes, its too irritating. I complained they say its normal after high speed downloading cap, ITS NOT. I mean its not even usable normally. What to do I don't know ? I can ebb away by with 15-18 kbps its okay but 5-10 kbps suddenly !? Unacceptable !!! And again I can't create an account in its website it says already registered. When did I register without my own knowledge ? Its just wasting my time too much, watching for this month if it does not improve and complains are just brushed off I can only look for other connection.


    Dear Mr. Naresh,

    Greetings from Tata Docomo!

    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We request you to kindly provide us the Tata Photon Plus connection details, along with screenshot of the speed for your device to the given below e-mail id, which will assist us in doing the needful.

    We assure you that we are committed to resolving the issue to your satisfaction.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Customer care
    Tata Docomo.

  56. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default I wonder

    I don't know what can I show you. Speedtest report says 0.12 mbps with ping around 371 ps. The speed I get is average 6 or 7 kbps even in torrent downloads, the normal download is pathetic, playing online games is impossible forget about video streaming. My colleagues have already stopped using photon, many of them are experiencing disconnection after every 2 hours like me. I wonder why your management decided to give Whiz speed instead of capped photon + speed of around 20 kbps but its making it harder for us to use it with this speed paying 1000 Rs for unlimited speed seems like a wastage. It was good in the beginning, its not going well these months.

  57. #57
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KS Naresh View Post
    I don't know what can I show you. Speedtest report says 0.12 mbps with ping around 371 ps. The speed I get is average 6 or 7 kbps even in torrent downloads, the normal download is pathetic, playing online games is impossible forget about video streaming. My colleagues have already stopped using photon, many of them are experiencing disconnection after every 2 hours like me. I wonder why your management decided to give Whiz speed instead of capped photon + speed of around 20 kbps but its making it harder for us to use it with this speed paying 1000 Rs for unlimited speed seems like a wastage. It was good in the beginning, its not going well these months.

    Dear Mr. Naresh,

    Greetings from Tata Docomo!

    We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

    We request you to kindly provide us your Tata Photon Plus connection details, e-mail id or your alternate contact number which will assist us in doing the needful.

    We assure you that we are committed to resolving the issue to your satisfaction.

    Thanks and Regards,
    Customer care
    Tata Docomo.

  58. #58
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    21

    Default

    As an existing user of Tata photon +,i am nt satisfied with the FUP as well speed beyond free data.
    the slab they offer is 44 kbps to 144 kbps.they should at least make it 356kbps for unlimited surfing and upgrade system requirements coz frequent disconnection is rampant even when i am currently located very near its BTS.
    10 GB and then 100 kbps is not a good worth for Rs. 1200

  59. #59
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Post Sincere and truthful review about TATA Photon +

    Tata Photon plus is piece of crap. The Indian ISP fuckers are selling some crap in name of Mobile broad brand. They just advertise saying that they give 3.1Mbps but only comes once in blue moon. What the **** man!!! My Blackberry speed is 20 times faster. And about service, it is piece of ****. They say they give 3.1 Mbps for mere ******* 5 GB mind you guys download + upload... which gets finished in 1 day... other 29 days i have to **** wit 10 KB or even 1 KB.... I really dunno why these Indian ISP fuckers are doing like this.....

    My sincere request to everybody in INDIA: PLEASE DO NOT BUY MOBILE BROAD BAND IN INDIA. IT IS A PIECE OF CRAP.

    P.S.: If the Tata Photon fuckers suck my **** i wud say that Tata Photn plus is the best

    P.S.S: No offence. Guys, my apologies for using offensive words.... please understand my agony i am going through

  60. #60
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KS Naresh View Post
    I don't know what can I show you. Speedtest report says 0.12 mbps with ping around 371 ps. The speed I get is average 6 or 7 kbps even in torrent downloads, the normal download is pathetic, playing online games is impossible forget about video streaming. My colleagues have already stopped using photon, many of them are experiencing disconnection after every 2 hours like me. I wonder why your management decided to give Whiz speed instead of capped photon + speed of around 20 kbps but its making it harder for us to use it with this speed paying 1000 Rs for unlimited speed seems like a wastage. It was good in the beginning, its not going well these months.

    Naresh..... it is waste... all these are piece of crap... they advertise heavily by saying we give 3.1 Mbps.... but don't give... my Blackberry is much faster than this... Can you believe it? Google comes in 0.9 s in my BB but 1 min using TATA Photon plus... ha ha ha

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. TATA Indicom Photon is Best
    By rahulportfolioo in forum Tata Indicom broadband
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 7th December 2012, 09:48 PM
  2. Tata indicom photon plus conection
    By karthikn in forum Tata indicom Photon
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th July 2010, 04:20 PM
  3. Tata Indicom Photon Plus - sharing between PC and Laptop
    By vganji1 in forum Tata Indicom broadband
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th December 2009, 05:25 PM
  4. Activating Tata Indicom Photon+
    By DrBrains in forum Tata indicom Photon
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st September 2009, 03:33 AM
  5. Does Tata Indicom Photon gives the best speeds
    By Preeti_20 in forum Tata indicom Photon
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th September 2009, 10:00 AM